Dorms Declassified: Summer Storage

download.jpeg

Hello! My name is Alejandra (Ali) Gatas Johnson and I am your Dorms Declassified: Brown Survival Guide blogger. Living in a dorm with a roommate was one of the things that I was most excited but also nervous about for college. This blog is to help ease the concern and provide insight on residential life at Brown.

Most of my dorm possessions are from Bed, Bath, and Beyond, Walmart, and the mall. I am from Colorado, so the only things I was able to bring from home was my clothes, pictures, and personal belongings. Everything else that didn’t fit in my suitcase I had to purchase here in Providence.

In a lot of ways, it was really nice to be able to see my room (and wall space), before figuring out what I needed to get. As I bought myself a floor lamp and a rug (and other room decor), I argued to myself that the money I was spending was an investment on my dorm life and mental health for the next four years minimum. But at the same time, I worried about what I was going to do with all of my stuff during the summer.

I knew that I wouldn’t be able to fly it all back with me on the airplane. I also knew that I couldn’t road trip all of my stuff (wayyyyy too long of a drive). I knew that I could do a storage unit of some sort, but I felt so ignorant about how I was to do that and transport all of my stuff.

Luckily, Brown contracts a storage company every year. The storage company sends every student an email including contact information, prices, packages, etc. The prices are usually relatively affordable and they cover the three months of summer break. I recommend reserving storage early to get the cheapest rates and maybe some discounts (I just reserved this past weekend for this next summer and I got 15% off). Some storage companies charge per item and some charge by the amount of space the items take up (it depends on which storage company Brown contracts that year).

Depending on the storage company contracted that year, students’ items can be picked up from their dorm rooms or the students can bring their stuff to one of the many drop-off/pick-up locations. Then at the end of the summer and beginning of the school year, all of the students’ items will be in their new dorm room ready to be unpacked (literally everything… in the room!) This year we are contracted to College Storage RI.

It is all very low stress and very easy. The storage companies sell boxes and tape. I recommend buying the boxes the first year and then saving them under your bed for the next three years to save money. Storing your stuff for the summer is not too much of a hassle. Don’t stress about it. Reserve your space early and be sure to save those boxes!

If you have comments or questions about this column or anything related to Brown, please email me at alejandra_gatas_johnson@brown.edu.

Leave a Reply

