On the Brown Low: Malachi’s Café

Welcome to On the Brown Low—a column dedicated to exploring all that the lovely city of Providence has to offer. Join me, Isabela Karibjanian, as I take you on a tour of all the hidden gems I find off College Hill!

Living in Providence, you never know when you’ll stumble upon your next favorite shop, restaurant, or place to grab coffee. Though I’ve lived here for almost two years now, and it’s a relatively smaller city, I know I haven’t even scratched the surface of what it has to offer. This week, for example, I went on a run with some friends in the Fox Point area, a neighborhood I thought I knew reasonably well. On our way back, we decided to stop inside a café for a snack, and stumbled upon one of my new favorite places—Malachi’s Cafe. Keep reading after the jump to hear more about their incredible milkshakes, hot cocoa, and my experience with a giant numerology book!

The wonders of Ives Street never cease to amaze me (PVDonuts! Tallulah’s! Bee’s Thai Cuisine! Like No Udder!), so it doesn’t surprise me that I enjoyed Malachi’s as much as I did. At first glance, Malachi’s seems like just another hip coffee shop, but it’s so much more than that. With extensive smoothie, milkshake, sandwich, hot cocoa, and tea offerings, Malachi’s filled a void in my Brown experience that I didn’t know existed. Choosing what to order took me at least 10 minutes, but I eventually decided on a “Crimson Ghost” milkshake, which was a combination of red velvet and white chocolate flavors. The milkshake was light and refreshing, and its pinkish color made it look like I was having a super healthy smoothie so it was really a win-win. My friends ordered a mocha chip shake (“Two thumbs up!”) and a mint hot chocolate (“Tastes like a liquid thin mint!”), and we all agreed that we had to go back to explore the rest of the menu. Though Bagel Gourmet is always great for breakfast, we decided that we might just have to try Malachi’s next time for our breakfast sandwich fix.

FullSizeRender-1

The atmosphere in Malachi’s is vibrant and colorful, with fun patterned walls and local artwork on display. We chose to sit on a cozy couch in the back near a coffee table replete with stacks of books, including one that we particularly enjoyed on horoscopes and numerology. Apparently, Malachi’s sometimes even hosts live music after hours!

FullSizeRender-2

My coffee shop aficionado friends had nothing but positive things to say about Malachi’s, which says a lot because of the sheer number of quality coffee shops in the Wickenden/Fox Point area. What I enjoyed about it most (other than the absolutely delicious milkshake) was that unlike Blue State on Thayer, or the Blue Room, Malachi’s offers an authentic neighborhood coffee shop vibe. Its decent prices, great food, and inventive drink flavors definitely made me a fan from my first visit.

Is there something in Providence that you want to see covered here? Have any suggestions for my next adventure? Send me an email (isabela_karibjanian@brown.edu) to let me know!

 

Leave a Reply

