Student Highlight: Adam Hersko-RonaTas ’18

Hi there! I’m Eimi (pronounced ‘Amy’) and I’m your correspondent for Student Highlight this year, a column dedicated to highlighting the scholars who attend this institution. While I’ve deduced that there’s no ‘typical’ Brown student, I hope to share a small glimpse into the wonderful and diverse individuals of this community.

Name: Adam Hersko-RonaTas

Hometown: San Diego, CA

Concentration: Cognitive Neuroscience

What classes are you taking this semester? Functional Magnetic Resonance Imaging: Theory and Practice (CLPS 1490), Intermediate 3D Computer Animation (CSCI 1280), and a GISP on Virtual Reality

Favorite class thus far? Introduction to Computer Animation (CSCI 1250) with Professor Barbara Meier. The class had a steep learning curve, but once I had a handle on the 3D software, I felt like I could make anything. I made a short animated film with 3 other friends for my final project, which was cool! Professor Meier is also wonderful.

What do you do on or off campus? I used to be on the Varsity Water Polo team but now do a lot with film on and off campus. I’m a managing director for Brown Motion Pictures, an Industry Coordinator for Ivy Film Festival, and a lab manager in Professor Bill Warren’s Virtual Environment Navigation Lab in the CLPS department, which does research on human navigation and locomotion. Recently, I did freelance editing on a 360 video project for the Navy’s new energy initiative and worked on a promo piece for Impulse Dance Company’s most recent show. Currently, I’m working with 2 students on their senior theses and co-directing photography for a feature film in the works since last year; we filmed for part of fall, all of January, and every weekend until now!

Favorite place/ study spot? The rooms on the 2nd floor of Rhode Island Hall are really nice.

Favorite Brown memory or experience? There’s a lot to choose from, but Jane Goodall’s lecture was cool. There are a lot of interesting talks that students get to see here, but she’s an especially inspiring person.

Why Brown? Brown gives students the freedom to pursue interests in a way that doesn’t feel seriously limited by bureaucratic structure. If you know where to look, there are so many resources here that are remarkably simple to gain access to; so much of what I’ve done at Brown has been contingent on accessing facilities and equipment. The school doesn’t feel cut-throat in a way that other institutions might, and people here are collaborative and want to bolster each other. It’s nice to feel like I can challenge myself but not at the expense of other people. Providence is a nice compromise between a giant metropolis and a suburb, and Brown’s location next to RISD means there’s a wonderful arts world as well.

Know someone who should be featured or want to get in touch with a highlighted student? Send me an email at eimi_satoh@brown.edu!

Leave a Reply

