Students of Color Perspectives: On Snow Days…

FullSizeRender-3

Hi there! I’m Laura Muñoz, a Freshman from Miami. I’m your Students of Color Perspectives blogger and I’ll write about what it means to be a proud (First-Gen, Feminist) Cubanita here at Brown (the best school on Earth).

This post is dedicated to all those prospective Brown students who are unfamiliar with New England winters/the concept of winter in general.

A lot of aspects of my Freshman year at Brown were new and required getting used to, but number one has been, by far, winter weather. Before this winter I’d never experienced 30 degree weather for more than three days at a time. My winters at home looked like a chilly 75 degrees, with the occasional 60 degree days which led to rampant chaos all over the city (no, I’m not joking).

I still think winter sucks and I still don’t like. I’m simply used to it now and accept the fact that I’ll be cold and forced to wear a coat for more than half the year. The best part of winter, though, is snow days. The concept of snow days was one I was entirely unfamiliar with before coming to Brown. Early in Spring semester we had our first snow day, and although I was excited because it seemed cool, I had no idea what to expect. If you’ve never experienced a snow day here’s a breakdown of what you can expect:

  1. The night before you will receive an email informing you Brown has declared the following day a snow day.
  2. You and your friends jump for joy because you don’t have to attend that really boring lecture you were dreading.
  3. You remember you may then have to make up the lecture during Reading Period.
  4. You will likely sleep in (always a win).
  5. You’ll probably stay in your dorm with your friends all day and emerge from the warmth of your room only to trek to the nearest dining hall looking like the Michelin Man as snow hits your face.
  6. The Ratty will be incredibly packed.
  7. You have extra time to get work done or give yourself a break.
  8. You can play in the snow with your friends!

It turns out I kind of love snow days. They’re pretty cool because they’re basically a day off in the middle of the week which you otherwise weren’t expecting. So, when you’re walking to the Ratty in below-freezing temperatures questioning your decision to study in New England for the next four years, at least remember class was cancelled and you got to binge-watch Scandal on a Tuesday in March.

 

If you have any questions, comments, or just want to chat, please feel free to email me at laura_munoz@brown.edu. (Seriously, do. I love talking about Brown. I’m obsessed with this place.) Gracias!   

 

Leave a Reply

