Second Time Around: Those Red Bull Kinda Nights

library

What is life really like as a transfer? Join me as I figure out the answer to this question! My name is Rachel Gross and this is my Second Time Around.

What is one thing everyone expected from a college experience, transfer or first year students alike?

  • Roommate issues? Maybe.
  • Parties? Sure.
  • Scheduling management? Well yes.
  • Late night study sessions at the library when Red Bull/coffee/straight caffeine in veins is the only thing to get you through it? One hundred percent. Let’s talk about those kinda nights.

Guess where I am currently? You’re right if you said library. With coffee in hand and a random piece of cake a friend lovingly gave me, I am set for the next few hours of my life. I am surrounded by more students whose eyes are glazing as they type another sentence or read another page. The clock ticks by as I wonder when bed will actually be in sight for the evening. Yet I completely expected this experience to happen at college just as the other hundred students on this floor of the library right now. College is a time for making memories with other friends whose late night study sessions at the Rock turn into face timing a friend from home (and getting shushed at) or when they start playing with a tube of cookie dough in order to make the rest of us laugh if only for a moment. College is a time when if someone says coffee you respond “how much can you carry to me.” College is a time when reading and studying is endless. But you know what, reader? Every single second is worth it. Every moment spent working and wondering when nap time is will be a future memory as you fondly recall how you made your goals reality.

As a transfer student from a community college, I had never experienced nights quite like this before in my academic career. I had undergone the occasional library study session for an hour between my two classes. Yet I had never experienced the intense study moments of a nighttime study marathon surrounded by stacks of books and by other hardworking students. It is just another aspect of college life which, in a way, I am grateful to have and call my own. Even as I write this, I must be making too much noise as someone glances deeply in my direction. But you know what? Thank you, other Brown University student, for just being a part of this night with me and for creating a college experience that I will one day look back on and think of fondly. Or laugh at just how tired I look as I get up to buy yet another cup of coffee.

This article is quite short and to the point mainly because another assignment calls my name. But also because I have a short and simple message for you. Even the moments you currently live out and don’t enjoy, aka more reading when wanting sleep, are important and are meant to occur for you to get where you want in life. Play some loud music and get to work. And make sure to laugh as your friend strangely attempts to get your attention with headphones on blast (hello, Zoe).

Here is to the next cup, reader, and the next sunshine-y morning.

Thank you so much for reading! Questions? Comments? Simple hello? Please feel free to email me at rachel_gross@brown.edu or leave a comment below.

Leave a Reply

