On the Brown Low: A visit to Amy’s Place

img_7935

Welcome to On the Brown Low—a column dedicated to exploring all that the lovely city of Providence has to offer. Join me, Isabela Karibjanian, as I take you on a tour of all the hidden gems I find off College Hill!

If you’ve been following this blog, chances are you’ve realized that I am a pancake fiend. For me, there is no better way to start off the day than with a stack of hot, fluffy pancakes. Luckily, Providence’s ever-expanding food scene provides me with a seemingly never-ending supply of pancakes to try and brunch spots to experience. This week, I tried Amy’s Place, a cute spot on Wickenden that serves breakfast and lunch all day. Keep reading after the jump for more on my quest for the perfect pancake and my odd experience with a communal table.

Amy’s Place is right next to Brickway on bustling Wickenden Street, which is a short walk away from campus. Nestled next to antiques shops and other cafés, Amy’s, like many Wickenden establishments, has a small dining room but lots of character. Its menu is expansive but not expensive, and includes classic breakfast options like pancakes, omelets, and French toast, and more inventive offerings like gourmet smoothies (Matcha green tea, anyone?!) and daily specials. Amy’s also has many lunch dishes on the menu, like wraps, burgers, and soups.

After finally deciding what to order, the real test came when we needed to find a place to sit. Amy’s bright dining room was very crowded, but I still had a decision to make: should I sit by the counter or at the slightly intimidating communal table? Communal tables have always fascinated me in theory as a way to meet new people or overhear interesting conversations, but I’ve always been too nervous to actually choose to sit with strangers when another option was available. This time, though, because the counter seats were right in the sun, I sucked it up and sat down with at least five people I didn’t know at the center table. It ended up working out okay, except it didn’t last for long—a smaller table opened up and my group quickly moved.

When our food arrived, it did not disappoint. My pancakes were fluffy with a slight crisp on the outside—the mark of a perfect pancake. They were so tasty that I may have to revise my pancake hierarchy! The other food that I saw coming out of the kitchen looked equally as good; the smoothies in particular looked delicious. Another perk of breakfast at Amy’s Place aside from the causal atmosphere, friendly staff, and great food is the bottomless coffee. For under $5, you can have as many cups as you want!

Communal table anxiety aside, my breakfast at Amy’s Place was excellent. Reasonable prices, a cozy and casual atmosphere, and an extensive menu that warrants greater exploration are all among the factors that make me want to go back as soon as I can. Maybe next time, though, I’ll bring a larger group so the communal table experience won’t be as awkward.

Is there something in Providence that you want to see covered here? Have any suggestions for my next adventure? Send me an email (isabela_karibjanian@brown.edu) to let me know!

Leave a Reply

