On the Brown Low: Tallulah’s Taqueria

Welcome to On the Brown Low—a column dedicated to exploring all that the lovely city of Providence has to offer. Join me, Isabela Karibjanian, as I take you on a tour of all the hidden gems I find off College Hill!

On Super Bowl Sunday, there are a number of staples at most parties: chips, guac, salsa, chicken wings, (overly?) passionate fans, and of course, The Game. In contrast to most people in New England, my friends and I (minus one very enthusiastic Pats fan) could have cared less about the game. For us, the main event was a classic game of commercial bingo and of course, the food. Keep reading after the jump to learn more about how Tallulah’s Taqueria was the true winner of Super Bowl LI.

Before the start of classes this semester (i.e. before the world knew the wonders of the newly remodeled Ratty!), some friends and I tried Tallulah’s Taqueria for the first time. A gem located on Ives Street (a short walk from south campus), Tallulah’s has Mexican food that is far more flavorful than anything you’ll find in a dining hall and that is much closer to the southern end of campus than Baja’s. Several blocks up Thayer Street may not seem like a far walk during the fall, but when winter hits (and wow, has it hit in the past week!), the sidewalks can get pretty nasty.

Tallulah’s interior is bright and lively, though there are not many seats. If you’re feeling adventurous, there’s a communal table, but there are also bar stools and counters. They even have an outside seating area with string lights that I’m sure is very picturesque when not covered with snow. Tallulah’s menu is extensive, with tacos, burritos, tortas, bowls, and quesadillas available. Every dish can be fully customizable with several types of protein available, and are included with any veggies you could want.

To me, their quesadillas were a revelation. Packed with fresh flavors and served on two smaller tortillas rather than one large one, they were the perfect meal on a blustery night. My friends went for the bowls, and like me, devoured everything in sight. I can only imagine their tacos, burritos, and tortas are as good, if not better.

img_7635

When it came time to prep for the Super Bowl, I immediately thought of Tallulah’s. The night I went to their physical location, I noticed that steady streams of people came and went with take out, and it seemed like the perfect option. For our Super Bowl watch party, we got bags of their chips, salsa verde, guacamole, and regular salsa. Their guac is the best I’ve had in Providence so far, and it (along with the commercial bingo game that got very heated very quickly) helped make the Super Bowl worth it for me.

Ives Street has so many great spots—PVDonuts, Bee’s Thai Cuisine, and vegan ice cream shop Like No Udder. I had no idea it existed last year, living on Pembroke, though several upperclassmen that I know who live on the southern end of campus and in off campus apartments frequent it often. There are some other coffee shops and bakeries further down Ives that I want to explore, and judging by the number of great experiences I’ve had on Ives, I’m sure they’ll be just as good.

Is there something in Providence that you want to see covered here? Have any suggestions for my next adventure? Send me an email (isabela_karibjanian@brown.edu) to let me know!

 

Leave a Reply

