A Fresh View: Welcome Back!

Hi everyone! My name is Jee Won Diane Kang and I’ll be your correspondent for A Fresh View this year. This column will chronicle some of my experiences as a freshman at Brown, and will include the highs and lows of that incredible journey.

Hello, my lovelies, and welcome back to A Fresh View!

It’s been a while – I hope that everyone has been doing well in the meantime. Coming back to Brown after 5 weeks of break has been an exciting experience, and I can confidently say that I was not prepared at all for the process (because it truly is a process) of integrating myself back into being on campus again.

I came back to Brown this semester a little later than I would have preferred due to extenuating circumstances and let me tell you: I will not be doing that again. I think it’s almost necessary to come back to campus at least 2-3 days before classes begin because it’s just complete pandemonium otherwise. Not only was I jet-lagged, but I was also exhausted from traveling, and that exhaustion isn’t the kind that goes away overnight. It sucked coming back to campus the day before classes started again, and I don’t think I want to put myself through that again.

But that aside, a lot of things have already happened and it’s only the first week back?! I am consistently amazed by how busy college continues to be… but not everything that’s been happening is necessarily a bad thing. In all honesty, just coming back is a rush in and of itself because you’ve spent 5 weeks away from campus, away from the academic rigor of university, away from all your friends.

I personally did absolutely nothing productive over break, and I’m coming back to a bunch of work that my mind and body were totally not accustomed to. I probably should have gotten more work done before coming back, but hey, nobody’s perfect. You win some, you lose some (although I don’t seem to have won many things of late…)

Shopping period is in full swing, and although I was lucky enough to more or less immediately know what classes I wanted to take within the first day, I am now faced with a very difference dilemma: I’m going to be taking 5 classes this semester. Stay tuned for how that works out, because you can bet that I’ll be talking about it as the weeks go along.

Along with the stress of choosing classes however, there are extracurricular activities to think about. The second semester activities fair is this upcoming Wednesday, and I can already tell that I’m going to be signing up for a bunch of clubs… and consequently never showing up to meetings for a vast majority of them. More on that in future posts, but learning how to navigate extracurriculars while at Brown falls on a pretty big adjustment and learning curve.

I’m looking to continue with old activities while picking up new ones, and while I’m looking forward to a fulfilling and rewarding semester at Brown, I can already tell that I’m in for a real ride these next couple of months.

54832a9f56382_-_gclph8d
Channeling that The Devil Wears Prada sentiment

Keep with it, folks, and stay tuned for how the second semester of my first year at Brown shapes up!

Feel free to contact me with any questions or comments! You can reach me at jee_won_kang@brown.edu.

Leave a Reply

