Second Time Around: Live. Love. Learn.

DSC_7262.JPG

What is life really like as a transfer? Join me as I figure out the answer to this question! My name is Rachel Gross and this is my Second Time Around.

As the first semester comes to a close, I have to take pause and and breathe deeply. What became of these past months? It seems that a whirlwind of activity has put me on auto drive. I began the process of transitioning to Brown as a transfer, choosing a class schedule, navigating shopping period, figuring out class credits, learning to live with a roommate, and finding the best eateries to get food. The transfer title comes with its trials and tribulations. I am (can I say “was” now?) a first year student in a junior age body. I still wake up to moments of panic where I can’t recall how to do properly put hours into Workday or when next semester class scheduling seems out of my depth. It is the process of growing, of recognizing that I need the support of the transfer community to continue making a smooth transition.

In this world of hyper-activity, moments pass by in a blur. So here we are with very little left to the semester and that continues to shock me. But what a great time to stop and smell the roses. I have experienced and accomplished much this semester and now I am taking a moment to recognize the ups and the downs, the moments past and present, and the beautiful community on and off campus. Just this past weekend I was able to truly and fully explore downtown Providence. I sat in Ellie’s Bakery and day dreamed of being in a Parisian café. I ventured into the brightly lit Craftland and began to write the ever-exciting Christmas shopping list. I took a ridiculous amount of photos with my friends in front of City Hall’s beautiful Christmas tree. Three months have passed yet this was my first attempt at exploring. I loved every second. I took the chance to breathe. And I feel more alive in the present moments.

You may be asking what the point of this post was? This is me crying out to you to never let life’s moments pass you by. As transfer, I feel that we know this best. We didn’t let life pass us by unhappily where we found ourselves last. We stood up and changed our plans. We took a leap and landed on the stars. Why let those moments of bliss stop when homework and stress and scheduling begins? I want you to always live for the present, take part in too much, explore the cities you find yourselves in, and never stop journeying to new heights. Take a moment to laugh so loudly you feel complete.

Thank you so much for reading! Questions? Comments? Simple hello? Please feel free to email me at rachel_gross@brown.edu or leave a comment below.

Leave a Reply

