A Fresh View: But What About the Parties?

Hi everyone! My name is Jee Won Diane Kang and I’ll be your correspondent for A Fresh View this year. This column will chronicle some of my experiences as a freshman at Brown, and will include the highs and lows of that incredible journey.

Welcome back to A Fresh View!

Now, I’ve avoided the topic of parties on here up until now, but I feel like it’s finally time to address the party culture on campus, knocking out drinking and hookup cultures with it. And by saying that I’m going to be addressing it, I’m actually just going to tell you how unqualified I am to talk about it, because I don’t go to parties, not in the conventional sense.

I haven’t been to a crazy Hollywood movie college party yet, and while I certainly don’t intend to, that sort of thing is definitely available for the people who want that. If you want to get involved in the drinking scene at Brown, that is an option for you. However, it’s really important to know that it’s not a huge part of campus life. It is totally possible to have a fulfilling and fun experience at Brown without becoming involved in party culture, and no one will judge you for making the choices that you make. For example, I live in substance-free housing, and that includes alcohol. Do people in my unit drink sometimes? Absolutely. Do they pressure me to do the same? Absolutely not. I’ve never run into an instance of peer pressure at Brown, and many of my friends who have more experience with the party scene here have said the same thing. For the most part, everyone is super respectful of your decisions and boundaries, which is great.

tumblr_n807qs5fxs1qgxab9o1_500

Now, hookup culture is a dicier topic and one that I’m not going into great depth with, but I will say a few words on it. First things first: if you plan on being sexually active on campus, there are a lot of places for you to get free condoms, so be proactive about safe sexual behavior. Secondly, there are a lot of resources on campus available to you so that you understand what healthy sexual behavior looks like, and a lot of them are confidential, which means that they are required to protect your privacy. The BWell program here has a plethora of great resources about safe sex as well as resources to use in the unfortunate case of sexual assault or violence, so I definitely recommend checking them out to get an understanding of the kind of support that is available here at Brown.

I think the most important thing is that you will never feel like Jay Baruchel here:giphy

Stay alert, friends and I’ll see you next time 🙂

Feel free to contact me with any questions or comments! You can reach me at jee_won_kang@brown.edu.

Leave a Reply

