Student Highlight: Dowon Kim ’19

dowon

Hi there! I’m Eimi (pronounced ‘Amy’) and I’m your correspondent for Student Highlight this year, a column dedicated to highlighting the scholars who attend this institution. While I’ve deduced that there’s no ‘typical’ Brown student, I hope to share a small glimpse into the wonderful and diverse individuals of this community.

Name: Dowon Kim

Hometown: Northvale, NJ

Concentration: Biochemistry

What classes are you taking this semester? Principles of Immunology (BIOL 0530), Organic Chemistry (CHEM 0360), Love Stories (ENGL 0100P), Basic Physics (PHYS 0030)

Favorite class thus far? Organic Chemistry (CHEM 0350). I like how everything is very concretely interconnected; you can always refer back to those basic foundations to solve more difficult, complex problems. It’s like doing detective work! When I understand something, the satisfaction is priceless.

What do you do on or off campus? I like to keep myself busy with a variety of interests! I’m a research assistant in Dr. Stephen Helfland’s molecular biology lab, where I look at aging in flies. I also break dance for GBX, Brown’s street-styles dance crew, and write for the Critical Review, which is a student organization that publishes course reviews based on surveys distributed to all undergraduate students in every class. These are my constants, but one thing I try to make an effort to do is to experience new things as well, such as going to see a jazz combo on the weekend, etc.

Favorite place/ study spot? The 6th floor of the Sciences Library. The recent renovations and new furniture are conducive to focusing.

Favorite Brown memory or experience? It’s hard to say! But I really enjoyed recently being part of Brown’s first Health Hackathon. It aims to create solutions to medical problems and barriers by working with designers, engineers, developers, physicians, artists, entrepreneurs, mentors, and others to help develop tools that could change the worlds of medicine and health.

Why Brown? It’s the best home away from home. The culture, people, conversations, and support you find here are incomparable to those elsewhere.

Know someone who should be featured or want to get in touch with a highlighted student? Send me an email at eimi_satoh@brown.edu!

Leave a Reply

