Second Time Around:Never Fear. You’re Never Alone.

 

What is life really like as a transfer? Join me as I figure out the answer to this question! My name is Rachel Gross and this is my Second Time Around.

So you have taken the jump into the transfer process. You’ve been accepted at the institution you could have only ever dreamed about. You are on your way to living the life you truly want and accomplishing those endless goals. What are the fears? Let me bullet point them as they flew through my thoughts:

  • No way am I smart enough for this.
  • I actually have to live with another human in my room?
  • I have to start the process of meeting new people and hopefully making friends the second time around. Hopefully…
  • What if I don’t find a person I click with?
  • Am I going to be alone for my time here?!

Can you see a common relation among the majority of those points? Friends: the people who will make your time at school especially memorable for the good times you share together, the moments you experience with each other, and the support they will constantly give. As I began to pack up my life into boxes and make the goodbyes to those I’ve spent years of my life with, I couldn’t help but really fear the idea of being completely on my own and alone. I was afraid I wouldn’t be able to create friendships and enjoy college life with others. As a transfer, I had already gone through this process once before as a freshman. The thought of having to do it again as an older, certainly not freshman student was something completely terrifying. I speak for myself in this aspect but think all transfers feel this to a certain extent. Why go through this all again? What if I’m not lucky enough this time around to find someone? To be honest, the fear of isolation was crippling. But I am here to tell you from a transfer’s point of view that this is an empty worry. Why? Let’s talk.

The first day of transfer orientation found a Rachel excited to begin the new step of her life and beyond nervous to meet new people (yes for third person POV). The nerves quickly began to dissipate as I met up with another transfer who I had connected with over Facebook throughout the summer. He made me realize that making friends and connecting with people who are meant to be a part of my life isn’t as hard as I imagined. I had the power to reach out of my shell and start fresh. I had made it this far. Fears could not constrain me anymore.

Orientation passed in a blur of scheduled activities and events. I became more confident in introducing myself to others and setting down roots with those who I felt an instant connection. I had officially made friends. One point to Rachel. Before I knew it, the first day of classes had already arrived and even more introductions were made. My French class brought two amazing girls into my life who I now consider my closest friends. A Starbucks trip with the sweetest transfer friend delivered another incredible person into my life. Every single day gave new moments, new classes, and new opportunities to reach out and make friendships. The fear of being alone had now completely disappeared. I had a group of friends who I already can’t imagine my time at Brown without, and the present me only laughs at my naive younger self worried about meeting people.

If you take one thing away from this post, let it be this: that fear of being alone and not making friends is completely useless. It is simply impossible to not meet someone you click with instantly. There are thousands upon thousands of people at this campus. You are bound to meet many, make connections, and find those who will make your life better. I promise you that. You already have me.

Thank you so much for reading! Questions? Comments? Simple hello? Please feel free to email me at rachel_gross@brown.edu or leave a comment below!

Leave a Reply

