The Question: How’s the Food at Brown?

img_5137

Hi! I’m Nicole Fleming, and I’m a blogger for The Question. I’m here to share my answers to some common questions about Brown to show you why Brown is the best university on Earth!

I don’t know about you, but I love to eat. A lot. But this doesn’t mean I’m not a bit of a picky eater. Let’s face it, wasting calories on bad food isn’t the route anyone wants to take. So when I came to Brown, I wanted to make sure that I found a variety of on- and off-campus food that was actually good. Honestly, I was a bit unsure how I would achieve this goal. As we all know, college campuses are famous for soggy fries and undercooked pizza…not high quality nutrition. However, I am here to assure you that Brown has a variety of good food options – many of which even a picky eater like me can enjoy.

I’m not going to bore you with the details of Brown’s dining plan, since http://brown.cafebonappetit.com/meal-plans/ can explain it better than I ever could. But the basic scoop is that Brown has two ways to pay for meals: meal swipes and points (which are like prepaid dollars). And it has two kinds of dining halls: the giant buffet-style cafeterias that you’ve seen in the movies, and smaller, more café-style eateries. Each has its pros and cons. Obviously if you’re looking for quantity, larger dining halls such as the Ratty and V-Dub are the way to go.

However, if you’re like me and care more about quality over quantity, don’t ignore Brown’s smaller eateries, such as Jo’s, the Blue Room, and Andrews. The pho at Andrews is 100% worth the short walk across campus. Jo’s is open late and serves the classics – burgers, fries, etc. – plus a few special dishes (such as quesadillas, fancy grilled cheese, and pasta bowls). Its spicy chicken sandwiches are perfect for those Saturday night munchies. And don’t forget the Blue Room’s butter rum muffins, which are absolutely to die for.

But let’s be honest…after a few weeks on campus, these food choices can get old. So how convenient is it that Providence is the city with the most restaurants per capita in the entire nation?!? And trust me, this stat is not overrated. Providence has it all, from mouth-watering Italian food in the city’s Federal Hill neighborhood to Los Andes, an authentic Peruvian restaurant. My friends and I love to go out to eat, whether for a special occasion or just to spice up a Friday night. And if cost is a concern, no need to worry – although the Northeast is expensive, many of the restaurants here are reasonably priced.

In short, when it comes to food at Brown, there are plenty of choices. From the Ben & Jerry’s on the edge of campus to DenDen Café, home of the best Korean food in town, Providence has you covered. So, bon appétit!

If you have questions about anything related to Brown, I would love to help! Please email me at nicole_fleming@brown.edu.

Leave a Reply

