Student Highlight: Arton Dokic ’18

 

Arton and his room in Minden

Hi there! I’m Eimi (pronounced ‘Amy’) and I’m your correspondent for Student Highlight this year, a column dedicated to highlighting the scholars who attend this institution. While I’ve deduced that there’s no ‘typical’ Brown student, I hope to share a small glimpse into the wonderful and diverse individuals of this community.

Name: Arton Dokic

Hometown: Manhattan, NY

Concentration: Computer Science-Economics

What classes are you taking this semester? Introduction to Computer Systems (CSCI 0330), Directions: The Matrix in Computer Science (CSCI 0530), Industrial Organization (ECON 1460), Investments 1 (ECON 1710)

Favorite class thus far? The Digital World (CSCI 0020). I took it freshman year, and it was not only a good transitional class into Computer Science but also into Brown. A lot of the skills I gained from the class (Excel, HTML, etc) were prerequisites for other classes and that was super helpful. The workload wasn’t too bad, which took a lot of weight off my shoulders, and it allowed me to have a good freshman experience without overloading myself.

What do you do on or off campus? I’m a teaching assistant for The Digital World (CSCI 0020) and Managerial Decision Making (ENGN 0900). I also am head of marketing and web analytics for the Intercollegiate Finance Journal, which means I make sure that the website is up and running, collect user data to determine what works and doesn’t work with our users and expand our audience, and plan social media campaigns with Snapchat, Instagram, and Facebook. I was part of this entrepreneurship program called the Innovation Dojo my freshman year, which is a super cool semester-long program that invites entrepreneurs to talk about their experiences in creating startups and the general entrepreneurial process. Even if you don’t want to be an entrepreneur, the program helps with the mindset of thinking differently to start a business and venture off and do something outside of your comfort zone.

Favorite place/ study spot? There are too many! I like the RISD library. The Watson Center is really quiet and nice; it has a modern feel but not many people know about it so I like working there. I have a love-hate relationship with the CIT, but it’s where my fellow concentrators and I convene to do work. The List Art Center has a really nice multimedia lab that anyone can gain access to if you ask for permission. It’s a nice place to work if you’re doing a project that requires high-tech equipment.

Favorite Brown memory or experience? ADOCH. I met a lot of people there with whom I formed long-lasting relationships, even people who didn’t end up attending Brown! I’m still friends with them today. Had I not come to ADOCH I probably wouldn’t be here, and I highly recommend that admitted students attend. Also last year as a sophomore, I lived in Minden and my room (see picture above) was really spacious and nice. The added decor probably contributed to this, but my room ended up being the weekend get-together location and my roommates and I were always expecting people… they just showed up! For my room to be ‘that’ room, it took a lot but it was really cool. 

Why Brown? Why not Brown? As a Computer Science person, I knew having the opportunity to study what I want within the field and build the skill set needed for software engineering was key. With Brown’s curriculum, I can focus on what’s important rather than on unnecessary requirements. This ability to hone my interests and create my own path were the most appealing factors. But at the same time, you also get people with lots of interests who are eager to explore outside of their comfort zone. The Open Curriculum is nice in the sense that you’re never forced to do things you don’t want to but only do things you’re interested in, which makes it easy to expand upon anything you want. It’s the best of both worlds. Aside from that, there’s a whole variety of people you’ll meet here! There’s no one type of person; everyone has such different backgrounds and I know that sounds generic but it’s true. The conversations I have with my roommates or friends are not ones that I take for granted because they shape the person I am.

Know someone who should be featured or want to get in touch with a highlighted student? Send me an email at eimi_satoh@brown.edu!

Leave a Reply

