Wise Fools: Toto, I’ve Got a Feeling We’re Not in Keeney Anymore

Hello prospective students, confused current students, and lost surfers of the web. Welcome to Wise Fools, where I address the ins and outs of being a sophomore at Brown University. My name is Justin Ferenzi, and I’m here to help shine some light on the intricacies of a student’s second year. 
 
Hi there! Welcome to my very first post as the Wise Fools columnist. Over the course of this year I hope to explore what it’s like to be a sophomore at Brown. Of course, my view is unique to me, and I would never presume to be able to speak to every aspect, experience, and point of view of an entire group of people. I’ll try my best to convey what I learn from listening to my peers as well as what I go through first-hand.
On this first post, I’d like to explore the transition from freshman units to sophomore life. Read on to find out just what happens when you move into your sophomore housing.

As a sophomore, you are no longer organized in cohesive units. There are no more structured activities or orientation events—you move in, and it can feel like you’re on your own compared to the highly organized way things worked your freshman year. It can be jarring to no longer live next to all the familiar faces you bonded with last year, but it’s all the more reason to keep in touch with people and foster your relationships from the previous year. Also, sophomore housing is a wonderful opportunity to meet new people! On my floor this year a few people organized a meet-and-greet, and ever since, our friendships have been growing stronger.
You will also no longer have RPLs, but you will have Community Advisors, or CAs. They serve a more hands-off role than RPLs do, but they are an equally great resource and equally as knowledgeable. Additionally, you’ll still have a Community Director, but this time CDs are in charge of much larger groups of students encompassing several different dorm buildings.
The transition to sophomore year is also a great way to further familiarize yourself with campus. Now that you’re (probably) living in a new location, and all of your friends are spread out around Brown, you’ll be forced to adjust and navigate Brown differently from the auto-pilot you likely went on your freshman year. To wit, you’ll also get to know East Providence and Fox Point better as well (to all my New Dorm, Barbour, and Perkins homies—make the now-shorter trek down to Ives street for a great time. I recommend Malachi’s Coffee Shop and PVDonuts).
The first few weeks of sophomore year can be disorientating; adapting to a new set of circumstances isn’t always the easiest thing to do. But remember your support network from freshman year, and remain open to drawing new people into that fold. The word sophomore, as indicated by this column’s title, comes from the Greek for “wise fool.” Come your second year, you’ve learned a lot—but you still have much to learn. That holds true for academics and for life outside the classroom. Keeping that dichotomy in mind is a great way to approach your second year. I’ll be sure to keep it in mind as well as I go through my own sophomoric trials and tribulations, and I’ll let you know how that goes, once a week, right here.
When Justin Ferenzi isn’t blogging, he’s obsessively refreshing his email account for blogging-related correspondence. For any and all questions about life at Brown, don’t hesitate to send a message to justin_ferenzi@brown.edu
Leave a Reply

