Students of Color Perspectives: The Importance of a Roommate

Hi there! I’m Laura Muñoz, a Freshman from Miami. I’m your Students of Color Perspectives blogger and I’ll write about what it means to be a proud (First-Gen, Feminist) Cubanita here at Brown (the best school on Earth).

The word “roommate” is pretty loaded for a mere two syllable word. For many, it is one aspect of college that is dreaded and that stirs up feelings of terror. I, however,  strongly oppose the negative stereotypes surrounding the idea of having a roommate. Instead, I’d like to emphasize the importance of having a good roommate.

I’ll admit, before coming to Brown, I accepted the idea of having a roommate. I wasn’t opposed to it, but I also wasn’t eagerly welcoming it; this is because I didn’t realize its significance.

In the month and a half I’ve been living in Brown’s coziest dorm, Wayland, I’ve realized the importance of having a roommate, and I’ve really grown to appreciate her presence. I’ve come to think of me and my roommate as a small family unit sharing our own space, and this can serve as a huge sense of comfort, especially in moments of homesickness or loneliness.

It’s very easy to feel alone amongst the waves of people at Brown, especially since everyone is always focused on themselves, but when you come to your room at the end of the day and have someone there to discuss the funny stories and disappointments that took place it is a comforting and supportive presence to have someone who knows you and understands you who is also living with you.

This is not to say you have to be best friends with your roommate and be attached at the hip- you don’t have to reach best friend status to have a meaningful relationship and appreciate your roommate, although some people actually do (which is pretty cool, great job ResLife!).

Of course there’s always the chance that you don’t get along too well with the person you are paired with, but in this case you can always contact ResLife for a switch. Or if you were assigned a single and seriously want an awesome roommate, you can also contact ResLife to be paired with someone at the beginning of the year.

My roommate Emma and I usually don’t see each other much throughout the day, since we have very different schedules, but once we’re back in our room each night we talk about how our day went, tell stories and laugh together. This is one of the parts of my day I most look forward to and am grateful to have- and most of you probably will in the future. The word roommate shouldn’t signify horror, it should signify bliss.

 

If you have any questions, comments, or just want to chat, please feel free to email me at laura_munoz@brown.edu. (Seriously, do. I love talking about Brown. I’m obsessed with this place.) Gracias!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

