Student Highlight: Intent and Purpose

highlight-1
(from left to right) Michelle, Pauline, and yours truly in our new apartment

Hey guys! I’m Eimi (pronounced ‘Amy’) and I’m your correspondent for Student Highlight this year, a column dedicated to highlighting the scholars who attend this institution. While I’ve deduced that there’s no ‘typical’ Brown student, I hope to share a small glimpse into the wonderful and diverse individuals of this community.

Welcome! I’m so glad you’re here 🙂

For those of you new to Student Highlight and the Bruin Club Blog in general, my name’s Eimi and I’m a senior from NJ concentrating in Education Studies. I’ve blogged for all semesters of my Brown career: first at Blogside Manner, then at Music to My Ears, and here at Student Highlight for the past 2 years. I’ve loved writing for Student Highlight the most because I’m constantly meeting new people and learning about their lives on and off campus! It’s also given me a space to rant about my own life and my own experiences (as you’ll see here in my first post), but I hope you enjoy reading my column as much as I’ve enjoyed writing for it.

The beginning of a new academic year is always exciting and BUSY! Seeing a green campus in full bloom again, finding out what other Brunonians did over the summer, and running into friends on the Main Green are just a few things that slap wide smiles onto students’ faces in the first weeks of September. The euphoria that rushes through upon entering a new dorm room or the nostalgia that lingers upon passing by a quaint coffee shop stained with countless hours of studying for finals from past semesters are priceless… at least when starting sophomore and junior year. But senior year? Things are different.

There are the obvious differences: only 8 classes left to choose from over 2000+ courses every semester (#thanksOpenCurriculum), one final year with all the intelligent minds that populate College Hill, and the impending tangibility of employment, graduate school, and other post-undergraduate plans. Maybe you’re living off-campus (say hello to my housemates in the picture, Michelle and Pauline, with whom I’ve been living since freshman year), maybe you’re off meal plan, and maybe that means you have a car (check, check, and check). As my GPS would say, life takes a very sharp left turn onto the I-95 and there’s absolutely no room to be making unsolicited U-turns… especially not in the middle of a highway.

Fortunately, this semi-quarter-life crisis has forced me to sit down and think about the way I want to chart the rest of my time here. A part of me sighs and shakes a heavy finger: You should have had this conversation with yourself earlier. But perhaps the current timing makes this conversation all the more productive. I only have 2 semesters left. There’s no more time left for me to put this period of self-reflection off. It’s happening.

The attitude I’m cultivating entering my senior year at Brown (and hopefully throughout the rest of my life) is one of intent and purpose. What kinds of values and purposes are my choices reflecting? What are the intentions behind my actions? Why do I choose to keep certain people in my life? What does this mean to me? Asking these questions has truly aligned the way I plan to spend my remaining months here. It’s meant quitting orchestra and tour guiding because I want to make more time for things that welcome and embrace my morals and philosophies with wider arms. It’s been minimizing the size of my social circle; letting go of enemies and keeping my closest friends even closer. Most importantly, it’s meant opening new doors even when the natural progression of senior year dictates that these doors close. These are the things that matter to me, and these are the things that I want matter to me heading into the last of my Brown chapter.

But enough about me. Stay tuned next week for a fresh new face! Until then…

Know someone who should be featured or want to get in touch with a highlighted student? Send me an email at eimi_satoh@brown.edu!

Leave a Reply

