Student of Color Perspectives: Feelin’ the Love

giphy-2

Hi! I’m Naomie Shembo and I am one of your first-year bloggers for Student of Color Perspectives. I blog about what it’s like the be #Black@Brown, in order to give some insight on what it is like to be a student of color here!

So I’m super excited (and high key proud) because this week is Loving Week on campus, put on by BOMBS (Brown Organization of Multiracial and Biracial Students). For some background, the Loving v Virginia court case resulted in the landmark decision to invalidate all the (idiotic) laws that prohibited interracial marriages. Richard Loving, a white man, and his wife Mildred Loving brought the case to court after having to spend a year in jail for marrying each other.

I think it’s really amazing that I go to a school where they celebrate things like this. Growing up in the south with all that good old racism, there would have been so much controversy if my high school had tried to commemorate the date that interracial marriage became legal. At my high school, it was a big deal if people of two different races dated each other, so I feel so liberated by the concept that Brown students support the idea that race (or any other social identity for that matter) should not be a factor when it comes to picking who you love.

I honestly feel like I’m in a whole new world in terms of racial sensitivity. I don’t know if it’s just the fact that I’m in the north now or if this is just a Brown thing, but I’m so happy that I don’t have to feel like my race defines me before I even get to speak. Not being expected to act a certain way, or dress a certain way, or hang out with certain people because of the color of my skin is such an amazing concept (albeit still contested) and I’m so glad that I chose a school that supports that notion.

Until next week,

Naomie Shembo

I am always here if you have any questions or just want to learn more about Brown! Just email me at naomie_shembo@brown.edu and I will get back to you ASAP.

Leave a Reply

