Snapshots of Brown: When Buying Spring Weekend Tickets becomes the Hunger Games

7a8c3568613b222e80339980555ea21fDo you long for new pictures of Brown’s campus to look at on a regular basis? Well look no further! My name is Brianna Lambert and I’ll be bringing you weekly photos depicting the life of a Brown student with Snapshots of Brown.

Hello, wonderful prospective students! It’s been quite a while since my last post because of spring break and ~life~ things, but I’m back now and I have a great story of failure, triumph, and the power of the Brown online community. This is the story of how buying Spring Weekend Tickets became the Hunger Games.

This weekend is Spring Weekend, the two-day music fest Brown throws every year on the main green. It is a campus tradition that almost every student takes part in. Before we can jump around to music and have fun we have to buy tickets to the event online. Now you might be thinking, “what’s the big deal about buying tickets online”? Trust me, this is pretty much a campus wide event. Tickets are released 8 am the Monday before Spring Weekend and people are more than ready to get up at that time to get them. The website used is also notorious for having some sort of malfunction.

Screen Shot 2016-04-11 at 2.55.57 PM
The ticket announcement

I’ve gone and purchased Spring Weekend tickets every year I’ve been at Brown (that’s two so far) and I have never had a problem with buying tickets. I really didn’t believe when older classmates told me of the horrors they went through. Well this year it happened…

IMG_1877
The image on my computer that broke my spirit.

No one could buy tickets at 8 am and everyone freaked out. The Spring Weekend Facebook event page blew up with panicking and frustrated students. Meme’s were made. Metaphorical (and perhaps literal) tears were shed until the agency responsible for tickets said the site would be up and running again at 8:30 am. Problem solved right?

12974477_927753404012437_8790868400642124302_n
So many memes

maybe we should

Wrong. People (including me) still ran into website errors. It was an absolute mess. Through it all though, it was nice to see Brown students online coming together to help each other through the stress and celebrate (finally) getting tickets.

IMG_1881
Mama I finally made it!

Brianna

Have certain things about Brown you would like to see? Send me an email at brianna_lambert@brown.edu and I’ll make sure to snap a pic of it!

Leave a Reply

