Hungry As A Bear: Jo’s

josiahs09Hello! I’m Amy Winkler, a freshman concentrating in Computer Science, and I’ll be writing about two of my favorite things,  food and Brown, for Hungry as a Bear. In this column, I’ll share all of the food related advice I have for enjoying Brown’s cuisine and getting the most out of your meal plan.

Today I’m going to talk about one of the more delicious options on south campus, Jo’s! Jo’s is a staple for late night food (open from 6pm – 2am!). They sell package goods including hummus and Uncrustables (what college student doesn’t need a pre-made pb&j with the crust taken off sometimes?!). They also have healthy and unhealthy options like mozzarella sticks, fries, burgers, quesadillas, salads, and grilled cheese. Pictured above are some of the rotating specials Jo’s had last month (the gnocchi was particularly delicious).

But, the most special thing about Jo’s is the Spicy With. You know a student is new to Brown when they order a “Spicy Chicken Sandwich with Cheese” (which I mayyyy have done a couple of times in my first semester). For some reason, all Brown students call it a Spicy With. Those who don’t like cheese sometimes order a Spicy Without. It is a delicious sandwich with just the right amount of spice. If you’re ever on campus I highly suggest you check it out!

If you have any questions or comments about eating at Brown or anything else, send me an email at amy_winkler@brown.edu. I would love to hear from you!

Leave a Reply

