A Fresh View: Trying New Things

try-new-things

Hello, Brown enthusiasts! My name is Leah Goldman, and I’ll be your socially-awkward blogger for A Fresh View for the coming year. Join me as I attempt to make my way through this slightly terrifying yet extremely exciting experience known as The First Year of College.

By the end of first semester, I felt like I had kind of gotten into a comfortable routine. I had my class and homework schedule down, I knew what clubs I was going to, I knew what meals I liked; everything had started to feel familiar. And so I set myself a rather vague challenge for second semester to try and find some things to add to my now-comfortable daily routine. Today I’d like to talk about a couple of new things that I’ve been doing!

1. New Classes

I’m not sure if this technically counts as something new that I’ve chosen to try, since new classes were kind of a requirement for the new semester. I am trying something pretty different this semester though, so I think it counts! Along with some required math/econ courses, I’m taking a First Year Seminar called Writers on Writing. We read various books and poems and then discuss them, and then the authors actually come in to talk about their work. While analyzing literature is not something I’m particularly comfortable with or good at, I’m really enjoying the course so far.

2. Exercising

Over winter break, I started going to the gym a lot to give me something to do. When I got back to school and returned to my lazy no-exercise self, I quickly realized that I missed it! I was sort of nervous to try the fitness center by myself, because I didn’t know where anything was, but it all worked out fine. Now I go to the gym at least 3 days a week. It can sometimes be a little challenging to make time in my schedule, but overall I think it’s worth it.

3. New foods

By the end of first semester, I had found foods that I liked and basically just ate them on a rotating schedule. This semester, I decided that I wanted to try and branch out and find some new, potentially healthier, meals to add to the rotation. My newest lunch discovery is the veggie patties that they serve every day in both the Ratty and V-Dub. They’re by no means amazing, but the quality is consistently pretty good, which is enough for me. Other additions include the discovery of wraps in the Ratty/V-Dub, as well as tofu in the pho that they serve in Andrews Commons.

So far, I’ve been really happy with how the new things I’ve tried have turned out. Hopefully they will continue to be a part of my second semester. With this success rate, I’m definitely going to try and find some other new things as well; I hope they all turn out this well! It would have been really easy for me to get stuck in my routine from last semester, but I’m so glad that I chose to branch out instead.

As always, feel free to contact me at leah_goldman@brown.edu with any questions, concerns, etc. or leave a comment below!

 

Leave a Reply

