From Albania to Zimbabwe: Welcome Back!

Screen Shot 2016-02-12 at 11.14.43 PM.png
Not the most beautiful time of the year, but hey, it will get better

Hi!  I’m SeungLee Lee, a sophomore hailing from Seoul, South Korea, and I am thrilled to be writing for From Albania to Zimbabwe. I will try to share all aspects of the international experience at Brown and hopefully provide a well-rounded, honest picture of what an American college experience is really like. Stay tuned!

Hey all, welcome back!

Hope everyone had a wonderful holiday and are kicking off the new year on a high note. It’s a hectic but also exciting time of the year, with the shopping period having just ended and the crazy weather and all. Providence weather never seems to make up its mind. One day it is gorgeous outside with a 60-degree weather in the beginning of February with grass sprouting – few days after the wind is so brutal that your face feels numb during your ten-minute walk to class. The one good that came out of this fickle weather was the snow day that came entirely unexpected but was wholly appreciated.

Lunar New Year was also right around the corner, so several groups on campus hosted fun and interesting events throughout the week. The Korean community at Brown gathered for a big bowl of Tteokguk, a thick soup with thinly sliced rice cakes that is traditionally eaten on New Year. Our percussion group (Hansori) also has a few performances coming up, not only for the Brown/RISD culture show in the spring but also for other nearby schools. This week was also Chinese Language Week with several events throughout the week, including a movie screening, tea time, and a cultural night in which people learned how to make traditional Chinese knots and other cultural pieces. That’s what constantly amazes me about Brown – there are always interesting opportunities around if you are keen enough.

This semester is when I must finally decide what I wish to study for the rest of my time at Brown. I also need to start thinking about my life after Brown, which I believe for internationals adds on another dimension of challenge. But fear not, I believe Brown does a wonderful job trying to connect their students to the outside world as much as possible. My personal goal for this semester is not to be as afraid to reach out for assistance or make fast friends as I used to be.

I’ll also try to bring more diversity to this post. Inevitably, I can only speak from my point of view and experiences, but the international student community here has so much more to offer and share than I possibly could alone. I’ll try to talk to as many people from different backgrounds as possible and share their own stories. Stay tuned!

Glad to be back!

Seunglee

Do you have any questions, comments or concerns? Send me an email at seung_lee_lee@brown.edu and I will get back to you!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

