A Fresh View: Going Home

Weha

Hello, Brown enthusiasts! My name is Leah Goldman, and I’ll be your socially-awkward blogger for A Fresh View for the coming year. Join me as I attempt to make my way through this slightly terrifying yet extremely exciting experience known as The First Year of College.

This week I want to talk a little bit about my first experience being home since starting college. I’m fortunate enough to live pretty close to Brown (a little under 2 hours away by car), so I could have gone home a lot more often than I did this semester. However, I really wanted to immerse myself in Brown and adjust, so I didn’t think it made sense to be running home to Connecticut every chance I had. My first time at home was for Thanksgiving, just over a week ago. It felt really great to be home, but definitely a bit different as well.

One of the not-so-great parts about being home was having to answer a million questions from my relatives about everything I’ve been doing and seeing at school. While I have always loved the family and togetherness aspect of Thanksgiving, this year it proved to make the holiday rather exhausting. I highly recommend preparing one or two activities and classes to talk about to appease the relatives while still allowing you to keep your sanity. Of course, it was still nice to see all of my family again, even with all the questions. Since being at school, I really haven’t talked to any family besides my parents, so some of the catching-up was very enjoyable.

I also was able to see a lot of friends from high school, which was really great because I hadn’t been doing a great job of keeping in touch with high school friends while at school. I got to hear all about how much everyone loves the school they chose, which was really great to hear. However, listening to all their gushing sometimes made me question my own happiness here at Brown. I think the thing to remember is that everyone expresses their happiness in different ways, and some are more vocal than others about it. I may not be quite as vocal about my happiness here at Brown, but that doesn’t mean I’m any less content with my choice of school than my friends are with theirs. Furthermore, I think it’s important to remember that despite the happy façade my friends put forward about their college experiences, everyone has certainly experienced some ups and downs in the first months of school, just as I have.

Overall, being home for Thanksgiving wasn’t quite as relaxing as I was expecting, because there were so many people I wanted to see, and so little time to fit everything in. Thankfully, I’ll be home again for over a month in just under two weeks! I’m not sure how that break will be… I’m guessing very enjoyable and relaxing with lots of great non-campus food, but I wouldn’t be surprised if I start missing Brown a little by the end of it. Stay tuned for my return next semester to find out!

I hope everyone has an enjoyable holiday season and a great New Years! For all of you who applied ED to Brown and are anxiously awaiting results, best of luck! Whatever happens, I’m sure you’ll end up at a school that is right for you. As always, feel free to email me at leah_goldman@brown.edu with any questions, comments, concerns, or suggestions, or leave a comment below! See you next year!

Holidays

Leave a Reply

