Blogside Manner: Ta-Ta For Now

8c468bd7ee94d525d9e4e1cb89dfe89a

Hey there! I’m Catherine, a member of the Program in Liberal Medical Education (PLME) class of 2019/2023. I’ll be posting updates about the Program, the grueling application process, and my life as a Brown student in PLME. Hopefully, I can give some insight into the Brown experience, and see some prospective students on campus in the coming years!

Here at the lovely Brunonia we are wrapping up the semester. As final exams, projects and papers begin to dominate my life, this will, unfortunately, be my last blogpost of the fall semester. I will be returning in the spring to give you more insight into PLME and being a PLME at Brown as well as an interview with the Dean of the program herself, but next semester my blog will be changing.

I will be spending more time talking about being a student in a Brown science class. I will also be asking some questions that have a bit more weight: what does it mean to be a woman in science, what does it mean to a woman of color experiencing the compounding effects of sexism and racism?

How do these topics relate to PLME you may ask? The simple answer would be that education does not exist in a vacuum. To become a doctor you will spend a significant portion of your time in STEM classes that will influence your opinions about yourself as a scientist and whether or not you continue in the sciences at all.

This semester I have been taking Introduction to Engineering. Naturally, students have dropped the class or decided to leave the degree track. However, many of the people I know who have done so are women and WOC. Earlier this year I talked to a well renowned female engineer who was featured in Forbes. She told me about how she, too, almost left engineering largely because it was very much a boy’s club. During the summer, there was a twitter campaign called “distractingly sexy” in response Tim Hunt’s claim that men and women cannot feasibly work in labs together because sexual attraction is too influential (another great response). Last spring, The Harvard Class of 2015 profile revealed that 74% of black students felt marginalized by their race. With so much evidence attesting to the barriers facing oppressed groups in the sciences, I would not feel right ignoring the realities being underrepresented in STEM especially when I am directly affected.

But this blog is not going to become my social justice soap box. I will be featuring views besides my own through interviews. And don’t worry, there will still be gifs and info about PLME, but I feel the need to add more substance because there is so much more to being a PLME than just being in PLME.

I hope you all have an AMAHZING holiday season and break! You earned it, even if I were like me senior year and incurably infected with senioritis, you still deserve a long break.
Also if you got in ED, shoot me an email. I want to live your excitement vicariously as I go through the pain that is finals season.

Questions? Comments? Concerns? Funny Gifs? Rugby Jokes? Cool New Music? Email me at catherine_nacier@brown.edu or comment below! I’ll try to respond as soon as I can!

Leave a Reply

