A Fresh View: An Introvert’s FOMO

CalendarHello, Brown enthusiasts! My name is Leah Goldman, and I’ll be your socially-awkward blogger for A Fresh View for the coming year. Join me as I attempt to make my way through this slightly terrifying yet extremely exciting experience known as The First Year of College.

As I may have mentioned in previous posts, I would definitely consider myself to be a rather introverted person. I often prefer staying in at night to going out to parties or events, and while I do enjoy being social, I find the process somewhat tiring after long periods of time. I don’t find that this has hindered my college experience in any way so far, but it has probably made my first experiences here at Brown slightly different from the norm.

When I first got here back in September, I’m not sure I had found the right balance between being introverted and going out and being social. I spent a lot of time in my room in the first few weeks, because the idea of going out with so many people was pretty daunting. However, the typical FOMO (Fear Of Missing Out) quickly set in, and I knew I would have to change my approach to social activities while I was here.

Since then, I think I’ve slowly found a pretty good balance of introversion and social activities. Big parties will probably never be my scene, but I have been trying hard to go to events that interest me. Sometimes I’m comfortable going on my own, such as when they have Heavy Petting events, where adorable baby animals come to campus. Other times, I find people to come with me, such as when I went to an acapella benefit concert last weekend with a friend from my dorm.

I’ve also been trying to be a little more social by making plans to meet up with people for meals. While it can be a little complicated to find a day and time that works, it’s a great way to catch up with people that I don’t see often around campus, and I don’t find eating with other people to be a very draining social activity.

Overall, I’m pleased with the balance that I’ve found so far this year. I’ll always be introverted and need time to myself, but I think I’ve found a good mix of alone time and spending time with others. Hopefully, I’ll be able to continue this for the rest of the year, and maybe even push myself a little further socially. Before college, I was definitely a little worried about keeping my introversion in check. Now I see that a little introversion doesn’t mean living with severe FOMO for the next four years.

If you have any questions, comments, concerns, or suggestions, feel free to email me at leah_goldman@brown.edu or comment below!

 

Leave a Reply

