A Fresh View: Independence

Schedule

Hello, Brown enthusiasts! My name is Leah Goldman, and I’ll be your socially-awkward blogger for A Fresh View for the coming year. Join me as I attempt to make my way through this slightly terrifying yet extremely exciting experience known as The First Year of College.

One of the things that I think most freshmen look forward to when coming to college is finally having all the independence they always wanted. This was definitely somewhat true for me; though I’m not the sort of person who wanted to be out partying in high school and wasn’t allowed, I was still looking forward to being able to set my own schedule. It’s a pretty great change, but it’s also very easy to abuse.

One of the biggest changes for me has been choosing when I want to eat, rather than having my eating schedule be dictated by when my family has chosen to eat. This is really convenient sometimes, like when I need to eat at some abnormal time because it works better in my schedule. However, it sometimes means that eating doesn’t happen for long periods of time, because I get caught up in doing other things and don’t have parents around to remind me that food is important. I definitely still like the freedom, though!

Another big change has been being able to independently set my sleep schedule. I definitely didn’t have a bedtime at home (and subsequently was often up rather late), but my parents often ‘suggested’ that I go to bed when they found me up in the early hours of the morning. Now, I can go to bed whenever I like, and my parents won’t know the difference. However, this means that my bedtime is getting progressively later, and thus the amount of sleep I get grows smaller and smaller, which is really not so enjoyable.

Probably the third biggest change for me has been being able to make plans without giving minute details to my parents. Though I don’t remember doing anything I was uncomfortable telling my parents about in high school, it’s nice to feel like my parents don’t need to know about my every move anymore. Of course, this also means that my parents won’t know if I spend a few days being extremely anti-social, which can tend to happen to an introverted person like myself, and probably isn’t a very good way to spend my college experience.

Overall, I’ve really enjoyed having more freedom, as I imagine most college students do. However, I also see now that sometimes having a little less freedom and a little more structure and prodding from my parents was probably a good thing.

Feel free to email me at leah_goldman@brown.edu with any questions, comments, concerns, or suggestions, or just leave a comment below!

Leave a Reply

