Music to My Ears: The Fall Fermata Concert

11150636_803899976331010_8884960338430592351_nHey ya’ll! I’m Vicki: class of 2019, decidedly undecided concentration-wise (but it’s between music, neuroscience, and economics), and your blogger for the Music to My Ears column. I’ll be writing all about Brown’s diverse and bustling music scene each week, so stay tuned!

I was incredibly lucky to be able to attend a concert a few nights ago, just in time for my very first blog post! Although I initially went in support of my friend (who is, of course, incredibly talented and musical – shoutout to Will!), I was definitely floored at the amount of talent I witnessed.

The concert was put on by Fermata, which is an awesome student-run group here on campus that is dedicated to performing music by Brown student composers. The group puts together two concerts per year; one each semester. Anyone can join! Members include both the composers and the musicians who play their pieces.

Students can submit their compositions to be considered for performance; if selected, they are forwarded on to the musicians, who then have their pick of the parts.

The music genres run the gamut, from contemporary classical to singer-songwriter! Highlights from today included Mark Benis’s “Orosha Village”, a sprightly piano/violin/flute trio, and Christy Leung’s “Free Flowing”, an easy-going, jazzy piece for french horn, electric guitar, drums, and alto sax.

Questions, comments, or concerns? I want to hear ’em. Seriously! Shoot me an email at victoria_tan@brown.edu.

Leave a Reply

