A Fresh View: Study Spaces

Study SpaceHello, Brown enthusiasts! My name is Leah Goldman, and I’ll be your socially-awkward blogger for A Fresh View for the coming year. Join me as I attempt to make my way through this slightly terrifying yet extremely exciting experience known as The First Year of College.

Oddly enough, one of the things that I was really excited about when I first started here was finding the perfect study space. For years I’ve seen pictures of gorgeous college libraries in TV shows and movies, and despite my constant reluctance to actually do work, I was really excited to find my perfect study environment.

Several months later, the search for the perfect study spot continues. Although I haven’t found my study paradise yet (though I’m sure it’s here somewhere!), I have found several nice spots that I want to talk about today.

Probably my favorite study spot as of now is the one pictured above, which is actually in Andrews, the building where I live. This makes it very convenient when I’m doing homework late at night, because I don’t have to worry about walking home in the dark. I also anticipate this being extremely convenient once the weather finally turns cold. Although the décor is a little more modern than I like when I’m studying (at home I worked at a very homey dining room table), I really like the level of quiet and the set-up. Andrews Commons, which sells food, is also right downstairs, which makes it very easy to take a quick break when I get hungry.

Study Space 3

(Picture taken from the BDH website)

This is the Sciences Library (more commonly referred to as the Sci Li), another study space that I’ve found on campus. Although the space is very nice (one of the other floors even has some wood study carrels, which are amazing), it tends to be a little louder than the study area in Andrews. It’s also a good eight-minute walk from my building, which isn’t the most enjoyable when I’m studying until 11 at night or when it’s cold or rainy. However, it’s a very convenient place to study between classes during the day.

Study Space 4

 (Picture taken from the BDH website)

This is the Rockefeller Library (more commonly referred to as the Rock). I typically study here several mornings each week, because I have a 9am class that’s pretty close by. I’ve found this to be a really enjoyable study space, though it’s not very close to my dorm or much else, so I only study there if I’m already nearby (lazy college student). The carrel-type desks pictured here are a really nice place to study, and I like having the natural light from the windows.

Study Space 2

(Photo from library.brown.edu)

This is the John Hay library, which I actually haven’t been to yet (I’m not sure why). I wanted to include this because it’s the most traditional of the study spaces that I know of here at Brown. Friends of mine who have been in the Hay have assured me that it is a great place to study, so I will definitely have to check it out soon. Maybe my perfect study space is there!

These are just a few of the places to study here at Brown. I know people who enjoy studying in the dining halls, in various other buildings, and, obviously, in their rooms. There are so many options that although it may take a while to find my favorite study spot, I have plenty of good ones to use in the meantime.

If you have any questions, comments, or concerns, feel free to email me at leah_goldman@brown.edu or leave a comment below!

Leave a Reply

