Hungry as a Bear: Coffee Milk (And Other Dining Hall Beverages)

Coffee_Milk

Hello! I’m Amy Winkler, a freshman concentrating in Computer Science, and I’ll be writing about two of my favorite things,  food and Brown, for Hungry as a Bear. In this column, I’ll share all of the food related advice I have for enjoying Brown’s cuisine and getting the most out of your meal plan. 

I had never heard of coffee milk until I got to Brown.It’s a Rhode Island drink that people from outside of New England don’t know about. The delicious (albeit unhealthy) mixture of coffee, milk, and sugar is one of my favorite things to get when I am at Andrew’s Commons or the Ratty now. I’m even drinking some while writing this blog post. Though if coffee isn’t your thing, there are plenty of other drinks to get at the dining halls.

At the two all-you-can-eat dining halls, the Ratty and the V-Dub, you can get any assortment of juices, soda, or water. My friend even likes to mix all of the juices together. They are self-serve so you can have as much or as little as you want. Sometimes they even have special occasion beverages. At the beginning of this semester the Ratty was giving out free frozen lemonade from Dell’s (another Rhode Island staple).

At Jo’s, the Blue Room, and Andrew’s Commons (a la carte eateries) you can buy a drink cup and get similar types of soda and juice. The other great thing about the a la carte eateries is that you can buy bottled drinks like Vitamin Water, Nantucket Nectars (the founders of this brand went to Brown!), and Honest Tea.

If you have any questions or comments about eating at Brown or anything else, send me an email at amy_winkler@brown.edu. I would love to hear from you!

Leave a Reply

