The Question: What is your average day like?

Fall is in the trees! Today I learned that glucose in the leaves turns them bright red here in New England.
Fall is in the trees! Today I learned that glucose in the leaves turns them bright red!

Welcome to The Question, where you’ll get answers about life at Brown all year long! I’m Celina Stewart, and I’ll be bringing you insights (and photos!) into my fourth year at Brown and my answers to some of the questions I wish I’d asked before college. 

One of the primary questions I receive from students interested in Brown is what an average day looks like for me. How much time to I really spend studying? What do I do for fun?

To preface this post, keep in mind that I’m a senior, so earlier in my Brown experience, I probably had more activities and time to explore with friends off campus. However, I’ll go over this week’s Monday and Tuesday schedules (Friday, when this is posted, I don’t have class, so that would be a boring day to write about). So… What’s my average day like?

Honestly, doing a breakdown by hour may be better for clarity and understanding:

Monday, a fairly easy day:

  • 10:30am: Wake up, and start brewing that coffee. I had a midterm today in my Modern Problems of Belief course (in the Religious Studies department) and sadly did not read all of the material until about 10:45 this morning.
  • 11:00: Finish compiling my midterm study guide, and start reviewing it.
  • 12:00: Walk to Thayer Street to grab lunch from my go-to favorite: Lotus Pepper, the Vietnamese food truck (seriously, if you’ve been reading, you know I love this truck).
  • 12:15: Arrive back at my house and, despite the potential academic shortcomings of this study approach, watch Netflix while eating lunch.
  • 1:00: Second cup of coffee; back to the study guide until 1:30 when I walk to take my midterm.
  • 2:50: Midterm finished! Thankfully, my hedged bets on which questions would be asked came true, so I felt pretty confident walking to the mail room to collect a Halloween letter from my dad.
  • 3:00-5:30: Great discussion of the book Americanah (I strongly recommend reading this if you get the chance) in my International Relations seminar. We stayed an extra fifteen minutes because the discussion was so great- definitely one of my favorite parts about Brown.
  • 6:15-7:30: Writing my blog response for Americanah on the course blog (part of the ‘discussion’ grade for the course).
  • 7:45-8:15: Beginning to collect sources to write my take home midterm for my history class Empires in America until 1890.
  • 8:15-9:00: Work out in my room, followed by dinner and relaxation!

Tuesday, one of my busier days:

  • 10:30am: Wake up; start getting my bag ready and, of course, have that first cup of coffee.
  • 11:30: Interview with a strategy consulting firm as part of the “On Campus Recruiting” process that Brown fortunately orchestrates for graduating students and prospective employers. This is one of the later interviews I’ve had this semester; most of my interviews have been packed into the past couple of weeks.
  • 1:00: Class! I have my first History course of the day, on Latin American film.
  • 2:30: Class #2! I have my second History course, the Empires in America until 1890 course.
  • 4:00: Done with class for the day, so I grabbed some Lotus Pepper on the way home.
  • 5:00-7:30: Begin reading through and thinking about themes of the sources for my History midterm due this week.
  • 7:30: Write my one page write up for my International Relations thesis on the selection for my case study.
  • 8:00: Write my blog post for the discussion section on Marx that I will lead on Thursday for my Modern Problems of Belief course.
  • 8:30-11:30: Finish reading sources for my history midterm and start cranking that paper out. 2 hours and 1500 words later, I am done!
  • 11:30: Begin making dinner and relax!

That’s it! Sadly, I don’t have many activities going on during the week, but have had plenty of time to highlight the amount of homework and reading I’ve had recently. Obviously, a lot of this depends on how you schedule your time and how productive you are when using your time. If you’d asked me last semester, I would have also been busy planning a Choir tour to Cuba (and had a two hour practice on Monday), among other things.

Want more photos and FAQ updates? Check out @thebruinclub on Twitter! Have questions or comments for me? Want more details?  Send an email to celina_stewart@brown.edu and I’ll get back ASAP!

Leave a Reply

