A Fresh View: Midterms!

Midterms

Hello, Brown enthusiasts! My name is Leah Goldman, and I’ll be your socially-awkward blogger for A Fresh View for the coming year. Join me as I attempt to make my way through this slightly terrifying yet extremely exciting experience known as The First Year of College.

After an intense week of studying and test taking (and another to come this next week), I want nothing more than to forget that midterms even exist. In all honesty, before starting Brown, I’m not even sure I knew that midterms were a thing in college. I think part of me just assumed that because classes are half-a-year long, they only had finals. I wish that were the case! But since we can’t actually ignore midterms, I think we should learn a little more about them.

So in high school, you’re probably used to having midterms in either December or January, and then finals in May or June (that’s how it was at my high school, at least). You have tons of time before you even need to think about midterms, but also tons of material to frantically review at the last minute when you finally acknowledge that midterms are soon.

Theoretically, if midterms were structured the same way in college, they would all occur about half-way through the semester. However, some classes choose to have multiple midterms (my Econ class has 3!), which is almost nice because then each midterm counts for less of your overall grade. This is also nice because it makes it less likely that you’re going to be stuck with multiple midterms in the same day. However, it means more stressful days of cramming overall.

Multiple midterms are also nice because then there is less material covered on each. That’s not to say that there isn’t still a lot to review, because there is (a lot of material can be covered in 3 hour-long classes every week for a month), but it’s obviously a lot less material than if there was just one giant midterm half-way into the semester.

Two midterms in, I can say that although they’re a pain to study for, and obviously not an enjoyable experience, they’re definitely survivable! We’ll see if I feel the same way after a couple more…

As usual, if you have any questions, comments, suggestions, or concerns, feel free to email me at leah_goldman@brown.edu or leave a comment below!

Leave a Reply

