Student Highlight: Olabade Omole ’17

Olabade

Hey guys! I’m Eimi (pronounced ‘Amy’) and I’m your correspondent for Student Highlight this year, a column dedicated to highlighting the scholars who attend this institution. While I’ve deduced that there’s no ‘typical’ Brown student, I hope to share a small glimpse into the wonderful and diverse individuals of this community.

It’s Mr. Steal Yo Gurl.

Or rather, Ms. Steal Yo Guy in this case. I don’t mean that in a negative way though. It’s because Olabade is just all in all a wonderfully radiant person, so much so that she attracts all human beings without intentionally doing so. If there’s one person who knows how to have a good time, it’s Olabade. She and I lived in the same dorm freshmen year and consequently were in the same unit. We bonded over our love for dancing, and we were frequently known for having spontaneous dance parties in the hallway at any and all hours of the day and night.

Besides being a great person to dance to Fetty Wap’s 679 with, Olabade is also one of the kindest and most altruistic souls I have met in my life. In fact, when I interviewed her for my column, Olabade was running on very little sleep (case in point: When I asked her if she could get me a slice of pizza, she replied, ‘What kind, vanilla?’). I told her that she should be napping and that we could reschedule, but she refused.  She took some time out of her busy life to sit down with me as a dedicated friend, and here’s what she had to say about herself.

Name: Olabade Omole

Hometown: North Plainfield, NJ

Concentration: Cognitive Science (also an 8-year PLME student)

What classes are you taking this semester? Principles of Physiology (BIOL 0800), Perception and Mind (CLPS 0500), Quantitative Methods in Psychology (CLPS 0900), Introduction to Object-Oriented Programming and Computer Science (CSCI 0150)

What do you do on or off campus? I’m a Science Tour Guide in which I take people through more of the science-oriented buildings like the CIT, MacMillan Hall, and Barus and Holley, and a MAPS mentor (sophomore peer advisor). I’m also part of a health literacy program for prisoners and and have an on-campus job at the reception of Orwig Library which is home to the Music department. My latest project has been coordinating Camp Kesem, which is a one-week summer camp for kids whose parents have cancer.

Favorite class thus far? Human Cognition (CLPS 0200) with Professor Joe Austerweil. The professor was engaging and made it a point to assign readings and articles that had real life applications. It was the first CLPS course I took that I felt could relate to actual life settings.

Favorite place on or around campus and study spot? I like the classrooms in Smitty B (Smith-Buonanno Hall) for studying and the little garden next to it and Pembroke Hall as a general spot on campus.

Favorite Brown memory or experience? At the end of every year, my friends and I (including Eimi!) do a Quad Walk. At night, we do a lap around the Main Green as we think back to the year and reminisce about all the great experiences we’ve had. It’s really nice because the Main Green is usually a very crowded and social place during the day (and when it’s not snowing) but you get to appreciate the space in an entirely different light at night because it’s so serene.

Why Brown? As a high school senior, I was deciding between MIT and Brown’s 8-year PLME program. The program definitely had some say in my decision to come here, but my experience has become so much more than just that. At Brown, I feel as though I’ve been given the time and space to develop as a person without being pushed or pressured in any way. The small enough but simultaneously large enough size of the student population means that I’ve been able to form close, tight-knit friendships and always see a familiar face on the street, but it also means that I’m constantly meeting new people and saying hi to someone I don’t know.

Best song to twerk to? Mozart Violin Concerto No. 3

Know someone who should be featured? Shoot me an email at eimi_satoh@brown.edu!

Leave a Reply

