The Economista: Welcome!

Screen Shot 2015-10-18 at 6.13.33 PM
Photo Credit to Olivia Cummings

Welcome to The Economista! My name is Andy Pham and I will be giving you weekly tips and tricks on how to budget, save money, and have inexpensive fun at Brown!

Welcome to the first entry of The Economista! For this week, I will be focusing on introductions, in terms of myself and the column.

Hello, I’m Andy Pham and I am a freshman here at the beautiful Brown University! My off-campus home is in Weymouth, Massachusetts, and on campus I live in Keeney Quad. I am currently planning on concentrating in Neuroscience on a pre-med track, but who knows what will actually happen! I am a first-gen college student, a second-gen American, and a low-income student. Some other activities that I am involved in are Class Board, Aerial Arts Society, and Global Brigades. I was also lucky enough to have the opportunity to attend both the Catalyst and TWTP pre-orientation programs this year. Please, feel free to e-mail me about any and all of these things!

Okay, now onto the column.

My goal with this column is to help ease some of the tensions that people may feel about attending an Ivy League institution, especially in terms of money. I also want to share some of the inexpensive ways that you can still have a college experience, while on a budget!

Some of the things that I will be writing about (but am not limited to!) are…

  • Free/Cheap & Fun Things to Do/Eat
  • School Supply Shopping
  • Free Resources at Brown
  • My & Others’ Experiences as Low-Income Students 

Be on the lookout for entries every Sunday! I will start with some real topics next week!

Thanks for reading,

Andy

I am open to any and all ideas, and will be happy to answer any questions you may have! If you have any suggestions, questions, or comments you can e-mail me at andy_pham@brown.edu . Thanks!

Leave a Reply

