Student Highlight: Eimi Satoh ’17 (aka, me)

Me 1

Hey guys! I’m Eimi (pronounced ‘Amy’) and I’m your correspondent for Student Highlight this year, a column dedicated to highlighting the scholars who attend this institution. While I’ve deduced that there’s no ‘typical’ Brown student, I hope to share a small glimpse into the wonderful and diverse individuals of this community.

Some of you may know me from the blogger of Music to my Ears from years past, but alas I have graduated from that column and into this one.

For those of you who don’t know me, you’ll find out soon! I thought about interviewing a friend of mine for this first week, then realized the fundamental problem that my readers probably don’t know who I am. So without further ado…

Name: Eimi Satoh

Hometown: I’m originally from Yokohama, Japan but did a lot of international traveling and am now in Harrington Park, NJ.

Concentration: Education Studies, with a potential double concentration in Psychology

What classes are you taking this semester? Elementary Psychology: An Introduction to Mind and Behavior (CLPS 0010), Topics in Language Acquisition: Language Acquisition and Cognitive Development (CLPS 1385), The Digital World (CS 0020), American Higher Education in Historical Context (EDUC 1730)

What do you do on or off campus? My main extracurriculars revolve around music and student advising. I’m a violinist and librarian for the Brown University Orchestra and play in a chamber music string quartet. I’m also a Meiklejohn First-Year Peer Advisor in which I advise freshmen in all aspects of student life, a tour guide, and co-leader of the Education Studies Departmental Undergraduate Group. Right now, I’m most honed in on the research I’ve partaken in since my freshmen year, which looks at cross-cultural moral development in children, and I have a UTRA grant for it this semester so that’s been really exciting!

Favorite class thus far? Cross-Cultural Perspectives on Child Development (EDUC 1580) with Professor Jin Li. The class, as the title suggests, looks at cultural differences in child development spanning among many different countries and continents. I really loved how Professor Li, who is Chinese herself, used anecdotes and personal examples to supplement the material that was being taught in class. Unfortunately she’s on sabbatical until the year I graduate so I won’t be taking any more classes with her, but she is a fantastic professor.

Favorite place on or around campus and study spot? I don’t have a favorite study spot because I need to vary up the places where I sit for hours on hours at a time, but I usually rotate between the AQR (Absolute Quiet Room) in the Rock, the 2nd floor computer cluster also in the Rock, somewhere in Campus Center, or my room.

Favorite Brown memory or experience? Hands down, playing at Carnegie Hall with the orchestra. I don’t think this needs an explanation.

Why Brown? This is a funny one. During my college application process, my mom and dad were each allowed one pick for me to apply to, and my dad’s choice was Brown. By a stroke of luck, I somehow ended up being accepted to and attending an institution that unknowingly cherished the same academic values that I had established for myself in high school. Working hard is important, but working intelligently is just as important, if not more important, and I think the freedom of the Open Curriculum allows for exploiting both types of work at varying capacities. It then becomes up to the student to balance and adjust each capacity, which is a big part of college. Also the student population here makes me aspire to become the best version of myself but not at the expense of other students’ well-being. Some of the people I’ve met here are disguised prodigies or geniuses-in-the-making who are extremely kind-hearted as well, and while that is incredibly intimidating it has allowed for ample amounts of growth for me as a student and a person. Let’s just say parents really do know best.

Spirit vegetable? Is pizza a vegetable?

Know someone who should be featured? Shoot me an email at eimi_satoh@brown.edu!

Leave a Reply

