Blogside Manner: What is PLME????

PLME Logo

Hey there! I’m Catherine, a member of the Program in Liberal Medical Education (PLME) class of 2019/2023. I’ll be posting updates about the Program, application process, and my life as a Brown student in the PLME. Hopefully, I can give some insight into the Brown experience, and see some of you prospective students on campus in the coming years!

Before I begin this blog writing adventure, I think I should introduce myself. I am an undecided concentrator who is considering Anthropology, History, and Engineering. I am from a suburb outside of Dallas, Texas which is REALLY different from Providence. By different I mean that I have no winter clothes because Texas doesn’t have winters. At Brown, I am on the Women’s Varsity Rugby team (Go Bruno!), a member of WBRU (Providence’s alternative rock radio station), a member of Active Minds (a group dedicated to raising mental health awareness), and a last, but surely not least, a contributor for the Bruin Club Blog!

So the mysterious PLME, is that even a word? Fun fact: at Brown there are no words just acronyms. PLME, The Program in Liberal Medical Education is Brown’s very own combined baccalaureate-MD program. In other words, the best way to not take the MCAT! Admittance into PLME means simultaneous acceptance into Brown and Warren Alpert Medical School. The program is not accelerated, so the first four years are essentially the same as regular undergrad with less pressure to be pre-med. PLME students have more flexibility when choosing classes and grading options and can concentrate in anything they wish, hence my dilemma in choosing a concentration. The Program is usually completed in eight years, but it is not uncommon for PLME’s to take a break during their study since PLME’s are able to take up to two years off for nearly any reason. Also, PLME’s have the option of applying out of the Program, however doing so means they lose their spot at Alpert.

Applying to the Program is a slightly extended application process. The PLME application has two extra essays; but don’t be deterred, the extra writing and editing is worth it. Once you press the portent submit Common App button you must first be accepted into Brown, after all PLME’s are Brown students not precocious Doogie Howser’s. Then, your application is transferred to a committee of unforgiving dark lords who will decide your fate. Just kidding! Applications are reviewed by the lovely PLME admissions committee and the Deans who will become your extremely helpful and accessible advisors on campus.

If you are kind of sure you want to be a doctor, I encourage you to apply to the PLME. In the Program you can study anything you want and not have to take BioChem or second semester Organic Chemistry, you can be pretty certain about your future, and you can go to Brown! I applied to the PLME early decision not sure if I could even get into Brown because how can anyone be sure they are in the 9% for Brown or 4% for the Program. I encourage those of you who dream of lab coats and binge watch Grey’s Anatomy to take a chance and apply, there is almost nothing to lose.

Check out the PLME website for more information!

Questions? Comments? Concerns? Funny Gifs? Witty Rugby Jokes? Cool New Music? Email me at catherine_nacier@brown.edu or comment below! I’ll try to respond as soon as I can!

Leave a Reply

