From Albania to Zimbabwe: Welcome!

10670135_730943940331984_4934794256264483878_n

Hi!  I’m SeungLee Lee, a sophomore hailing from Seoul, South Korea, and I am thrilled to be writing for From Albania to Zimbabwe. I will try to share all aspects of the international experience at Brown and hopefully provide a well-rounded, honest picture of what an American college experience is really like. Stay tuned!

Hello there! My name is SeungLee (pronounced Sunglee) Lee. I sometimes go by Sophie, my English name, which is easier to pronounce for some people. But I do feel more like myself when I go by my Korean name; it helps me acknowledge and have confidence in my Korean identity.

It’s always awkward when you try to introduce yourself to people you don’t know, but let me give this a shot. I am a computer science-economics (CS-Econ for short) concentrator from Seoul, South Korea. I was born and raised in Seoul and always spoke Korean at home. Thanks to my extended family in Chicago who invited me to stay with them for two years in grade school, I was able to learn English without too much trouble. A couple years later, I decided that I wanted to return to the United States and complete high school here. Five years after that impulsive, bold decision that I made at the age of 14, here I am at Brown.

I had no idea what I wanted to focus in my first year, so I dabbled in almost all concentrations I could possibly think of ranging from history, English, economics, international relations, applied math, computer science, etc. My coursework included Latin, history, English, math, economics, political science and even geology. It was overwhelming and confusing but also incredibly rewarding, which I truly believe is what makes the Brown experience unique and unforgettable.

I have been writing for the Bruin Club Blog since last year, and I am thrilled to return for another exciting year. I wrote posts about dorm life, which I argue is one of the scariest and most interesting subjects for pre-frosh wondering what college is like. It was at least for me. I had a lot of fun with the process since I was writing on what I was newly discovering and experiencing everyday.

But I always knew there was something I wanted to write about and discuss even more, and that was international student experience. That additional component of my college experience, which I shared with only a handful of people on campus (roughly 10% of the student population), was what made my time at Brown even more fun, crazy, hectic, confusing, rewarding and well, you get the point. So I hope my posts will give you at least a glimpse of what studying abroad is really like. It has its ups and downs, the good and the bad, but if I were to go back five years and make the decision again, I would make the same decision every time.

Until next time,

SeungLee

Do you have any questions, comments or concerns? Send me an email at seung_lee_lee@brown.edu and I will get back to you!

Leave a Reply

