The Bear Necessities: Get Out, Get Active

IMG_5176

Hi there Brunonians! My name is Michelle Zabat, a friendly first-year from marvelous Michigan. From fitness to food to fun ways to feel your best, The Bear Necessities is here to give you the inside scoop on staying healthy and happy here at Brown. 

Spring seems to be teasing Providence–the weather over Spring Weekend was wonderfully warm, but the temperatures seem to have dropped somewhat since then. While this does unfortunately inhibit pulling Spring clothes out of dorm storage, it does mean that conditions are perfect for getting outside and getting active. Need some ideas for how to exercise in Providence? Check out my favorite ideas!

You don’t need to be a runner to get a good workout in, but I will admit that running is one of my favorite ways to enjoy this Spring weather. Brown’s location is the perfect starting spot for a bunch of different running routes, depending on what scenery you want to breeze by on a particular day. If you’re feeling the city, head through the high rise buildings downtown to the quaint, cute streets of Federal Hill. If you want something quiet, stay on the East Side. My favorite route is one I’ve dubbed the “Whole Foods Run,” which takes me north in a loop around the Whole Foods on South Main Street and east in a loop around the Whole Foods on Waterman Street. If you want to go a bit further from campus, try Blackstone Boulevard. It has a divided highway with a beautiful green space for running or biking in the middle.

If you prefer something a little bit slower, I love to take walks around town, too. This morning I was feeling a bit restless and couldn’t sleep, so I decided to take an early morning walk. First I headed east to the Fox Point and stopped at Silver Star Bakery for breakfast (a Portuguese bakery that sells mini Portuguese sweet bread buns for only 50 cents!). Then I walked to Wickenden, crossed the river to downtown, and headed to Federal Hill before turning around and making my way back to campus. It was refreshing and reinvigorating, and I definitely am going to try and get out for walks more often.

Finally, if you want something less cardio-based, you can use the crazy hills in Providence to your advantage. Try doing lunges up one of the steep hills that go from campus down to the river (like Hopkins Street, or one of the streets a little bit farther north–they don’t get much vehicle traffic). I promise it’ll start to burn really quickly.

That’s all for today. Have a good week ahead!

Michelle

Questions? Comments? Just want to chat? Email me at Michelle_Zabat@brown.edu!

Leave a Reply

