Pride and Prejudice: Ending on a High Note

11173389_920541244635484_2828396745291727238_n

Hello Blogosphere! My name is Isaiah Frisbie and I am honored to be the writer for Pride and Prejudice. As a freshman myself, I came to Brown with a number of questions, many of which were answered within a matter of weeks while others remain open-ended. Perhaps one of the more enduring questions, one that may continue to be answered throughout the entirety of my Brown career, is how my own sexuality will affect my college experience. So, I have taken it upon myself to use this blog to contribute any kind of insight that I can about LGBTQ life at Brown and hopefully, in some way, help any student, prospective or otherwise, put some of those nagging worries to rest. 

I apologize that I was missing in action last week. Let’s just say that eight to ten page research papers aren’t the…easiest assignments to finish. Nevertheless, it is done and I am back. This will officially be my last post of the year and I just want to leave you off with some last thoughts! This Friday marks the last day of my second semester and the conclusion of my freshman year! I honestly can’t imagine where the time has gone! This time last year, I had just decided on Brown and now I’m already done with a quarter of my time here! It’s frightening how quickly this year has gone by! It’s frightening how quickly time goes by in general!

Now a rising sophomore, I understand just how fleeting your time in college can be and I am now resolute on doing everything in my power to take advantage of every opportunity. For any prospective student reading this, you have to understand that as an incoming Brown student, you will be in a place to participate in some truly memorable experiences. Take advantage of those opportunities. Make sure to capitalize on every chance that may be thrown your way and appreciate every single one.

For example, before coming to Brown, I would have never been in any kind of position to meet someone as influential as Mr. George Takei! For those of you who do not know this man, shame on you!

No, I’m absolutely kidding! George Takei was a lead character (Sulu) on the original Star Trek series and is a current acitivist for LGBTQ issues. I was a fan of him before my arrival to Brown but I never imagined that I would be able to meet him. Those are the kinds of things that might just become feasible during your time here. You might meet a truly exceptional social activist or become a part of a largely impactful First Generation Students Conference (1vyG). The point is that I would have never had these kinds of experiences if I hadn’t put myself out there.

I know that your transition to Brown might be overwhelming and by all means, focus first on getting adjusted. Then, when the dust finally settles, start looking to see what interests you and go for it. Take the initiative. Be ambitious. You may have no idea how you might be rewarded.

It has truly been a pleasure to write for the Bruin Club and I wish the Class of 2019 nothing but the least stressful first year possible. If there is ever anything you wish to ask me, related to LGBTQ life at Brown or otherwise, please don’t hesitate to contact me! Thank you to everyone who took the time to read this column! Until Next Time…

If you have any questions, comments, or suggestions about what I should post next, please don’t hesitate to email me at isaiah_frisbie@brown.edu.

Leave a Reply

