He, She, and Phe: Dorm Life at Brown: Storage Struggles

Screen Shot 2015-04-26 at 9.30.00 PM

Hi there! I’m Seunglee Lee, a first year blogger for He, She, and Phe: Dorm Life at Brown. For nervous freshmen, including myself, nothing is more exiting yet intimidating than prospects of dorm life. As I navigate through all the fun, hectic and hilarious experiences dorm life at Brown has to offer, I hope to share them with you and hopefully convince you that Brown is the place to be.

Hey there, I hope you are all making it through your last weeks of school. To those who came to ADOCH, I hope you all had a great time. I know it was a bit awkward and slightly overwhelming, but Brown is a lot more exiting and engaging than those confusing three days as pre-frosh. I promise, the “Where are you from? What are you studying? Where are you living?” questions eventually come to an end after the first couple weeks of school.

The post-Spring Weekend and post-ADOCH scene is as dry as it gets, I’m not going to lie. Everyone is swamped with exams, projects and papers. I have a friend who has a midterm during reading week and a final a week after, who has a conspiracy theory that the coffees at Brown are not caffeinated, and another one who has developed a 36-hour sleep cycle. Yes, I wouldn’t mind taking a time machine that brings me three weeks forward in time, but at least there is an end to it. It is a very bittersweet moment. I am surprised and quite sad that my first year has gone by so quickly; I sometimes wish I relished the moment more. At the same time, I am extremely excited to return to Korea, travel, work/intern, and spend quality time with friends and family.

But not just yet, there’s another hurdle beside the three exams and two papers that I somehow need to get through. And that is the storage question. It’s especially important since I have so much stuff and there is so much I can bring with me on a plane. Luckily, Brown Student Agencies has paired up with a local storage company to offer students reasonable deals for storage – even offering vouchers distributed through a lottery system. There are also other handful of options that are readily accessible through flyers and word of mouth. I am planning to leave most of my books, school/dorm supplies, and winter shoes here. My fellow internationals also coming from the other side of the globe (that 17-hour plane ride, though), I am speaking from experience; less is more – literally, because the less stuff you have the more money you save. You don’t need as much as you think you do when you are packing. CVS, Providence Place and Target will just as do.

Good luck to you all,

Seunglee

Do you have any questions or comments? Shoot me an email at seung_lee_lee@brown.edu and I’ll get back to you!

Leave a Reply

