The Bear Necessities: Spring Weekend Adventures

IMG_5775

Hi there Brunonians! My name is Michelle Zabat, a friendly first-year from marvelous Michigan. From fitness to food to fun ways to feel your best, The Bear Necessities is here to give you the inside scoop on staying healthy and happy here at Brown. 

Spring Weekend finally sprung, and boy, was it fun. If you’ve kept up-to-date on the happenings here at Brown, you probably know that Spring Weekend is one of the most anticipated times of the year. After my first time experiencing it, I can confidently say that it really is all that it’s hyped up to be.

But I’m not going to lie–Spring Weekend can get crazy. If you’re like me and you’re not necessarily as wild as wild can be, have no fear. Spring Weekend can be a fun time with friends no matter what you’re up to on the best three days of the year. 

Spring Weekend concerts are Friday night, Saturday evening, and (kind of) Sunday afternoon, when student-favorite Dave Binder comes to play (it was his 29th consecutive year this year!). Tickets were $18 each for Friday and Saturday and the Binder show is free. The lineup this time around included big names like Waka Flocka Flame and Modest Mouse, but I will admit that I really knew none of the artists performing! None of my friends were really into any of them either, so we decided to mix up our Spring Weekend plans.

We bought tickets the morning they came out for Saturday’s concert and planned a girls’ night out for Friday instead. Although I heard Waka Flocka was as Flock-ity as could be, I think it was a great decision. The Friday concert is purportedly the more “eventful” one, so a calm night out downtown with a movie and dinner was more up my alley. We went to the Providence Place Mall and saw Cinderella at the cinema, then walked to Teriyaki House on Eddy and Westminster for a delicious dinner. After filling up, we headed back to campus and hit up one of the non-concert events that Brown sponsors: Breakfast at Midnight at Alumni hall. Although it was a second dinner for me, I regret none (or only some) of the French toast that was consumed that evening.

On Saturday we did go to the concert, and it was a lot of fun. This year, Spring Weekend was the first real warm weather we’ve had since the beginning of the year, and it was amazing to see so many students out and about! I got to talk with friends, feast on snacks from food trucks, and enjoy unfamiliar but cool music from the bands on stage. Then I headed to the annual Fratty at the Ratty, which is a post-concert meal sponsored by the Greek Council. If chicken fingers, burgers, and fries are up your alley, then Fratty at the Ratty is for you.

But my favorite part of Spring Weekend was definitely Dave Binder’s show on Sunday. I didn’t really know what it would be going in, but it turns out Dave is a funny man with a guitar who sang lots of crowd-pleasing favorites everyone could sing along to (the Beatles, Wonderwall, Hey There Delilah, and even the Black Eyed Peas were some that stuck out). It was nice to relax on the grass with my friends and soak in the sounds.

So there’s a quick little recap of my Spring Weekend 2015. Of course, everyone celebrates the weekend in different ways, but have no fear–no matter how you like to have fun, you can find a good way to spend the weekend with your friends. I can’t wait for next year!

Michelle

Questions? Comments? Just want to chat? Feel free to email me at Michelle_Zabat@brown.edu!

 

Leave a Reply

