Snapshots of Brown: The UEL (Angell Street) Community Garden

IMG_2657

Welcome to Snapshots of Brown, your destination for pics of Brown all year long! I’m Celina Stewart, and I’ll be bringing you little photo insights into my third year on Brown’s campus. What’s up this week? Let’s take a look… 

A couple weeks ago, I was sitting in my teaching assistant’s office in Sharpe House on Angell Street (one of the ‘History’ houses, where the professors and teaching assistants have their offices and hold conferences), and found myself looking out the window at quite a cute little garden. While cooperative gardens, housing, and food options are common place at Brown, I had never noticed this little plot of land before. Well, this week, I was walking by and was reminded to look it up- so I did! It turns out, it is called the UEL Community Garden, and has been there since 1984. Wanna learn more? 

IMG_2658

The garden was designed show how organic foods don’t require a huge amount of space, but rather can be grown in smaller spaces, such as this back yard plot. The garden is maintained by community members and Brown students, several of whom I saw when I was first looking at it from my TA’s office. Unfortunately, when I went today there weren’t any people tending to the garden, or else I would have asked more about the project.

Apparently, the garden contains a variety of organic plants, including ground covering plants, medicinal herbs, and, of course, plants local to Rhode Island (RI is all about being local).

Interested in learning more about the project or other ways to get involved in the community outdoors, or about environmental efforts at Brown? Check out the Facilities website!

Want more snapshots and FAQ updates? Check out @thebruinclub on Twitter! Have questions or comments for me? Want more details? Send an email to celina_stewart@brown.edu and I’ll get back ASAP!

Leave a Reply

