The Bear Necessities: Spring Has Sprung!

IMG_5496

Hi there Brunonians! My name is Michelle Zabat, a friendly first-year from marvelous Michigan. From fitness to food to fun ways to feel your best, The Bear Necessities is here to give you the inside scoop on staying healthy and happy here at Brown. 

A while ago, I wrote about how excited I was for the snow to melt and the weather to warm so that I could get back out and about in and around Providence. I’m happy to say that that moment has finally arrived! The birds are chirping, the sun is shining, and the roads are calling. Here are some of my favorite ways to stay active in the coolest city around.

I’ve never been much of a runner, but it’s amazing how easy it is to go for a run when there are so many cool and beautiful places to explore. It feels really homey to have a personal “running route” too–I do this double loop thing that goes by the two Whole Foods that are in the vicinity of campus and it’s a hilly seven mile dream. Although I haven’t been there yet, I’ve heard that Blackstone Boulevard is a nice place to go, too; friends have told me that it’s a divided highway with a big green space in the middle that’s perfect for running. I know what I’ll be doing on a weekend morning soon!

Another thing I love is yoga, and as of right now my favorite place to get my “ohm” on is in India Point Park. It’s a short run away from Keeney Quad and maybe a fifteen to twenty minute walk, so on a lot of mornings I take a stroll down to the water with my yoga mat and stretch out. The view is beautiful, the breeze from the water is nice, and it’s just an all-around amazing, relaxing time.

Finally, I’ll admit that I feel like an old person saying this, but I really enjoy just walking around. It’s perfect weather for a morning or evening stroll, and there are so many cool places to go. You can head East to Fox Point, west to downtown, or north along Benefit Street and North Main/Hope Street. There’s so much to do and so much to see.

Next time you’re in Providence, let me know what you guys find exploring! Or I’d love to know what you guys do at home to get outside and get active.

Michelle

Leave a Reply

