Snapshots of Brown: Spring Weekend

IMG_2627Welcome to Snapshots of Brown, your destination for pics of Brown all year long! I’m Celina Stewart, and I’ll be bringing you little photo insights into my third year on Brown’s campus. What’s up this week? Let’s take a look… 

This week’s snapshot is a pic of my Cybersecurity and International Relations discussion section, which my co-Head Teaching Assistant and I decided to hold outside this afternoon due to the beautiful weather. It was a great start to the weekend, which gets me to…

Alright, fine. I’m writing this on Thursday, since my Friday publication date precludes me from writing this after the weekend, so I apologize for not being able to provide an awesome recap of all the adventures accompanying Spring Weekend. However, this will be my third year, so I’ll try my best to talk about all the fun that I expect to happen this weekend! Spring Weekend essentially marks the official beginning of spring at Brown. When they announce that the concerts will be held outside, that’s the official moment when everyone starts getting excited for the weather. So, what’s the reality of Spring Weekend?

Starting tonight (Thursday night), Spring Weekend is semi-officially on. Tonight, SPEC’s Carnival happens on the Main Green, and will offer all sorts of fun activities for students to drop by and participate in. My personal favorite? The inflatable jump machines, the obstacle course, and of course, the mechanical bull. They also provide burgers and other cook-out style food, snow cones (my favorite), and popcorn. Students can participate in the dunk tank (dunking professors? Who wouldn’t want to do that?), or safe sex and drug/alcohol awareness trivia, making sure that everyone is prepared to have a safe, healthy Spring Weekend.

Tomorrow, the first concert series happens, and all day long, people will be outside, rocking their Spring Weekend tank tops (mine this year is the ‘Brooklyn’). I have tickets (worth the 8am wake up) to tomorrow’s concert, which features Waka Flacka and Hudson Mohawke. Saturday’s concert will feature Modest Mouse, and is sure to be fun.

The best part, for me, about Spring Weekend is that it is such a feature on campus that professors do their best to respect the weekend and give students a slight break from work to just hang out outside, spend time with friends, and focus on just being college students without obligations (an extremely rare occurrence at Brown) for a weekend. Of course, having long term papers and reading due the week following does put a damper on festivities, but as long as you manage your time well, it works out.

Want more snapshots and FAQ updates? Check out @thebruinclub on Twitter! Have questions or comments for me? Want more details? Send an email to celina_stewart@brown.edu and I’ll get back ASAP!

Leave a Reply

