Pride and Prejudice: Let’s Talk About Adversity

20150411_164827

Hello Blogosphere! My name is Isaiah Frisbie and I am honored to be the writer for Pride and Prejudice. As a freshman myself, I came to Brown with a number of questions, many of which were answered within a matter of weeks while others remain open-ended. Perhaps one of the more enduring questions, one that may continue to be answered throughout the entirety of my Brown career, is how my own sexuality will affect my college experience. So, I have taken it upon myself to use this blog to contribute any kind of insight that I can about LGBTQ life at Brown and hopefully, in some way, help any student, prospective or otherwise, put some of those nagging worries to rest.

In case any of you are reading this post in particular, let me just begin by offering my congratulations to the accepted applicants of the Class of 2019. I know that you all have had your respective battles on the way here and, although none of us usually have time to do so, you deserve to take a moment to revel in this accomplishment. It’s no easy feat getting into an Ivy League institution but of course, you all know this. 

As I said before, I imagine that the personal journeys you’ve all taken to get here weren’t void of their share of complications and burdens. Nevertheless, you have persevered and have hopefully made it to the institution that you feel validates all the effort you’ve put toward your education.

As I write this post, I’m trying to think about the kind of thing I would have liked to hear before my arrival. What kind of advice would have been useful to know before I started my first year?

I think that one of the most common perceptions of college holds that it’s usually the kind of enviornment that lacks many of the traditional issues students tend to face in high school. While this is true in many respects, I think that one of the most important lessons I’ve learned during my time here at Brown is that adversity is not exclusive to high scool. It comes in multiple forms and can creep up at any time in a person’s life. I myself have faced a few issues during my college experience that I had previously believed I would never come across.

Now before you begin to ask yourself why the Bruin Club would recruit a writer who apparently seeks to instill anxiety and fear into his readers, just bear with me. Yes, I have had my share of obstacles in these last seven months. Yes, college turned out to be more stressful than I had previously anticipated and complicated in ways that I had never even considered. On the other hand, if someone asked me whether or not I wanted to redo my freshman year, I already know my response would be an outright “No.”

I understand now that adversity is a universal problem. It isn’t isolated in one specific place or time span. You may face adversity in any facet of your life and for almost any reason – academics, social relationships, sexuality, and so on. Yet, this has never stopped me from pushing forward and you can’t let it stop you. Although it had its imperfections, I absolutely loved my freshman year and I’m so fortunate for all of the memorable experiences I’ve had so far. I had a year that taught me the value of adversity. I have grown so much. I have changed so much. I look at things so differently now and I am so grateful that I am not the same person I was just over six months ago.

I can say with confidence that you will enjoy your college experience. You will walk away with countless memories and perhaps even a few life-long friends. However, you will have those bad days. You will have those low points that are just truly exhausting. Rather than let those moments overwhelm you, let them inspire you instead. Keep moving forward. You will make it out alive and find that the person leaving the wreckage is much stronger because of it.

If you have any questions, comments, or suggestions about what I should post next, please don’t hesitate to email me at isaiah_frisbie@brown.edu.

Leave a Reply

