He, She, and Phe: Dorm Life at Brown: Housing Lottery Aftermath

50067758_eca5fc0d82

Hi there! I’m Seunglee Lee, a first year blogger for He, She, and Phe: Dorm Life at Brown. For nervous freshmen, including myself, nothing is more exiting yet intimidating than prospects of dorm life. As I navigate through all the fun, hectic and hilarious experiences dorm life at Brown has to offer, I hope to share them with you and hopefully convince you that Brown is the place to be.

Hello! I apologize for not having posted in a long time. Our Hansori group performed in the Korean Culture Show last Saturday, which kept us super busy for the entire week. Check us out!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yFXwkIn-2Wg&feature=youtu.be

I hope everyone had a nice spring break, and congratulations to everyone accepted! I know how hard it is to battle that senioritis, so hang in there! I hope you all consider coming to ADOCH. I had such an incredible time during those three days and it really convinced me that Brown was the place to be for the next four years.

I truly feel I had a connection to Brown from the very beginning. The tour guide on my very first visit to Brown turned out to be one of the coordinators of ADOCH who welcomed me back on the campus. That same person led the TWTP (Third Year Transition Program), the pre-orientation program I attended before the school year began. I find that to be such a pleasant coincidence.

You must be wondering how the housing lottery went for us. We were in the bottom third of the lottery numbers – yes I know, it was pretty bad. But we were lucky enough to avoid the beloved Perkins Hall, the isolated building 20 minutes away from campus that everyone is too nice to leave it unclaimed for those who get the last pick. Our housing group, or “those who narrowly escaped it-that-must-not-be-named,” is quite happy with our results.

My abode for the upcoming year will be New Pembroke 4, which amusingly is literally a minute away from where I am currently living. I guess Pembroke and I are just meant to be. My dream of waking up fifteen minutes before my 9 a.m. class and stopping by the Blue Room (the café inside Faunce) to grab breakfast is pretty much shattered. But on the bright side, we couldn’t be closer to CVS. It may even be possible for us to see it from our window. Since Soyoon (my lovely roommate for next year. She was just selected to be next year’s IMP mentor: for you international students, she is another reason you should consider coming!) and I are planning to cook our own meals as much as possible, having CVS near us is a huge blessing.

I think the next logical step would be to talk about meal plans and food in general, which of course are huge components of living on campus. Stay tuned for next week!

Seunglee

Do you have any questions or comments? Shoot me an email at seung_lee_lee@brown.edu and I’ll get back to you!

Leave a Reply

