The Bear Necessities: Midterm Getaway

IMG_5277

Hi there Brunonians! My name is Michelle Zabat, a friendly first-year from marvelous Michigan. From fitness to food to fun ways to feel your best, The Bear Necessities is here to give you the inside scoop on staying healthy and happy here at Brown. 

Midterm season. The point in the semester where there seems like there’s so much to do and no time to do it. Stressful? You bet. But manageable? Of course. I like to abide by the “work hard, play hard” principle–but I don’t mean “play hard” in the sense that most party-hardy college kids probably do. Sure, I love to go out and have a good time just as much as the next person. But hey, you’re in Providence! You’re on the East Coast! There are so many amazing things to do, and while I’m down for a night out on campus, sometimes a day or two doing something else is just what a testing-weary student needs.

I went back to Boston for the second time this semester. My brother is still in high school and was on Spring Break this past week, and he and my parents were planning on college touring out east. As it would have it, they were looking at schools in Boston, so they decided to swing by Providence on the drive over and pick me up to tag along with them for Easter weekend. Luckily, you don’t need a family car ride to get to our neighbor city. A round trip ticket by train is only about $20!

Since my family came from a reason, we did tour a school Saturday morning, but other than that, it was a blissfully purpose-free weekend. We wandered around Boston, hitting Quincy Market and Faneuil Hall, the North End, and even Chinatown. We food toured, saw the sights, and lazed around the hotel room at night. It was the most wonderful way I could imagine to destress from all the studying I had been doing.

I think what I’m trying to say is that–even though I was out of town and with my family–it doesn’t take much to destress. We were in Boston, but we could have been anywhere else, and the company would have been just as appreciated. This is what self-care is; it’s about finding people you can depend on and laugh with and leaning on them for support. I was lucky that it got to be my family this weekend, but other times it’s just as easily friends here at school, friends from home, or even professors.

Find your escape, whether it be a place, a group of people, or even just a pastime. College can be hard, and although it’s important, your health and happiness is paramount. We want you well-read and well-rested.

Michelle

Leave a Reply

