A Fresh View: Spring, is that you?

IMG_1590

Hello friends! I am Yuzuka Akasaka, the ineffably ecstatic first-year blogger for A Fresh View. As I happily stumble through the beautiful hot mess that is the first chapter of my college life, I hope y’all will enjoy the Brown experience with me through the blog posts. I am sending love and good vibes to every single one of you from my new home, Providence, Rhode Island. 

Spring has finally (kind of) arrived! For the past week, the temperature has been in the high 30s and low 40s, sometimes even in the 50s, which has helped a lot to melt the snow. It’s currently raining, which I am oddly happy about, because for the past few months, the only precipitation has been snow. I’ve switched from wearing my knee-length winter coat to my waist-length winter jacket. Patches of grass have finally emerged after hiding under the snow for over two months. I cannot believe that spring break is in two weeks, and that the year is flying by. The other day, I was overjoyed by the sunshine and the warmer weather, so I trekked down the hill to eat lunch by the river.

Even after attending school here for over a semester, I continue to be blown away by what my classmates are capable of and what they produce. Last weekend, my friend used my room to shoot a short silent film for one of her classes; though I have not yet seen the complete finished product, the clip that she showed me was amazing, and I could not believe that it had been filmed in my humble room. I witnessed a portion of the filming that was done in my room, and I was in awe of the talents of the people there: the improvisation skills of the actors, eye for filming of the director and the camera person, and how the directors suggestions instantly molded the actors’ body language and the feel of the shot. I was impressed by my friend, who wrote the screenplay, prepared the set, and filmed portions of the film, as well as the other participants who made the film possible, including the actor and actress, and another friend who helped film.

IMG_1610

Last night, I attended the Spoken Word Poetry Night hosted by OBSIDIAN Magazine (http://obsidian-magazine.tumblr.com/about). In my experience, spoken word poetry events have been more abundant and accessible for me in college than in high school, but I have not been to as many events as I would have liked. What I like about spoken word poetry is that it is rather intimate, in that the poet shares their experiences out loud. Several of my friends performed, and though I know them somewhat well, they shared thoughts and experiences that I was unaware of with such beautiful language. This along with some of my friend’s positive experiences with expressing their thoughts and thinking through writing has inspired me to start journaling my thoughts.

As I often state, I am so thankful to be in an environment in which I am surrounded by these incredible people, and learn from them. Maybe the warmer weather is melting away the winter blues, and is giving us more energy to pursue great things.

xoxo,

Yuzuka Akasaka

If you have any questions, comments, or suggestions for my next blog post, feel free to email me at yuzuka_akasaka@brown.edu. Have a lovely day!

Leave a Reply

