Pride and Prejudice: A Little Conference-Obsessed

   IvyQ NEQPOC 10452938_1427374964202441_1071092392003970810_o (1)2015 Ivy Policy

Hello Blogosphere! My name is Isaiah Frisbie and I am honored to be the writer for Pride and Prejudice. As a freshman myself, I came to Brown with a number of questions, many of which were answered within a matter of weeks while others remain open-ended. Perhaps one of the more enduring questions, one that may continue to be answered throughout the entirety of my Brown career, is how my own sexuality will affect my college experience. So, I have taken it upon myself to use this blog to contribute any kind of insight that I can about LGBTQ life at Brown and hopefully, in some way, help any student, prospective or otherwise, put some of those nagging worries to rest.

Hey fellow Internet Explorers. (Yeah, I went there.) I’m sorry about not posting last week. So, here’s the deal. Last weekend, months of planning and preparation finally culminated into a finished product. Last weekend, Brown hosted the first 1vyG Conference, which brought together over 250 first-generation students across the Ivy League in order to discuss the issues that this community so frequently faces.

I think it suffices to say that a three day conference is demanding. As a result, I wasn’t able to attend the Queer Alliance’s First-Year Kickoff. Therefore, no blog post. However, let’s not dwell on the past. Instead, let us take a lesson from Meet the Robinsons and keep moving forward. (Oh yeah! I went there again.)

So if it isn’t obvious already, I’ve come to the conclusion that I’m a little “conference-obssessed.” Apart from 1vyG, I will admit that I have a…few other events in the works. April is definitely going to be a busy month.

First in the lineup is the 2nd annual New England Queer People of Color Conference.

According to their website, “The New England Queer People of Color (NEQPOC) Conference strives to provide visibility, liberation, and empowerment for queer-identifying people of color in the New England Area. The conference provides a space where self-identifying Queer People of Color (QPOC) can build and strengthen social connections and critically engage in dialogue about the intersecting social, political, and theoretical dimensions of QPOC identity and community both in the New England area and beyond. The conference theme is ‘Healing.Visibility.Community.’ and will take place on April 3rd-4th, 2015.” Although I am only volunteering for the conference, I definitely look forward to catching a glimpse at some of the sessions and meeting a whole new array of people.

Next on the list is the 2015 Ivy Policy Conference. Held from April 10th through the 12th, the conference “brings together the students of the eight Ivy League universities in order to discuss and gain insight on common policy challenges and achievements within their respective schools. Students engage in round-table discussions on topics such as advising, housing, diversity awareness, and campus sustainability. Following each conference, the Ivy Council publishes a Final Policy Report which includes findings and recommendations collected from the students’ conversations.”

Now you can call my excitement a little premature on this one but news on IvyQ 2015 was just released. Let me remind you that IvyQ isn’t until November. Nevertheless, this year it’s going to be held at Cornell and I couldn’t be more excited.

The moral of the story is that I obviously spread myself very thin but at least I will have plenty to write about in the coming months.

If you have any questions, comments, or suggestions about what I should post next, please don’t hesitate to email me at isaiah_frisbie@brown.edu.

Leave a Reply

