The Bear Necessities: Sometimes You Just Need a Break!

IMG_4633Hi there Brunonians! My name is Michelle Zabat, a friendly first-year from marvelous Michigan. From fitness to food to fun ways to feel your best, The Bear Necessities is here to give you the inside scoop on staying healthy and happy here at Brown. 

I love Brown. I love the classes, the campus, the community, the city, the–wait! Don’t tune me out yet. There’s a point to this, I promise. Yes, I love Brown, but I’m also well-aware of the fact that our little home up on the hill is also a shiny little bubble. It’s a bubble that contains wonderful things, but I think that an important part of being a member of the Providence community is actually getting off of the hill. It can really help alleviate stress levels, too! Simply being in a fresh space is a good way to clear your head.

Since we’re so wonderfully close to downtown Providence, getting into the city and getting to know Rhode Island is quite feasible. But as I’ve learned this past month, there are many other ways to spread your wings even wider.

I actually haven’t been on campus for the past three weekends. I’ve been traveling all over the East Coast! One of the big reasons I wanted to come to Brown was because I thought New England would offer me a good chance to explore many different places. After this past February, I can say that I was definitely right!

We had a four day break the weekend of Valentine’s Day, so I took the time to take a Megabus (my first Megabus experience! Super convenient, and super cheap!) to New York City, where my aunt and uncle live. My brother in high school was on break too, so my family actually road tripped all the way out from Michigan to meet me there. It was a wonderful (albeit cold) few days wandering around the Big Apple, which is one of my favorite cities. And when you’re a college student far from home, I will admit that any chance to see your family is one you should try and not pass up.

Those fun few days in the city were out of my pocket, but Brown offers opportunities to help you explore as well. Remember Archipelag-a, which I talked about last week? We got invited to perform at ECAASU 2015, the East Coast Asian American Student Union Conference, in Boston. So the weekend following my trip to New York, we were able to get funding for the drive up to Boston to perform, explore Cambridge, and hang out at Boston College, Harvard, and Boston University.

And things didn’t stop there! I’m the VP of Finance for Brown’s American Medical Students Association Pre-Med Society Chapter, and AMSA was holding their annual convention in Washington, D.C. this past weekend. Amazingly, Brown provided funding for five of us to fly down and stay in D.C. to attend the conference. It was an amazing experience, and I can’t believe I got the opportunity to go!

After three exciting weeks of exploration, I have to say I am looking forward to a weekend of relaxation (and catching up on lost sleep) here on College Hill. But I wouldn’t have traded this past month for anything. Where will Brown take you?

Michelle

Questions? Comments? Suggestions? Just want to chat? Send me an email at michelle_zabat@brown.edu

 

 

Leave a Reply

