Snapshots of Brown: LSAT and the Pre-Law Society

lsatWelcome to Snapshots of Brown, your destination for pics of Brown all year long! I’m Celina Stewart, and I’ll be bringing you little photo insights into my third year on Brown’s campus. What’s up this week? Let’s take a look… 

This week, I started my LSAT prep course through Kaplan, only one of the options for getting ready for the next step in my education: law school! Determined to live out my Elle Woods fantasy (so to speak), I am planning to take the LSAT in June, and depending on how this summer goes, I’ll apply for law school next fall. So, how does Brown prepare you for graduate school?

The first way is through pre-professional organizations, like the Brown Pre-Law Society. Although I’m not a dues paying member, I attend meetings and am able to attend law school visits and meet with lawyers and elected officials to discuss their experiences or to take tours. For me, it is a nice way to keep my interest in law going and make sure that I’m headed in the right direction.

For other students, there are a variety of other pre-professional organizations, study groups, and testing strategies that can help with admissions. I have many friends preparing for their GREs, and others looking into doing 5th year masters at Brown or planning to apply to prestigious academic fellowships, like the Fulbright or Rhodes Scholarships.

Brown has a huge range of academic and career resources, so students can get guidance and advice on their options post-graduation. We have BrownConnect, a new alumni-student network, the Career Lab and Job and Internship Board, and plenty of departmental programs aimed at providing students information on continuing education,  area studies-specific scholarships or fellowships, and other research opportunities.

If you’re interested in learning more, simply look up the concentration you’re thinking of pursuing, and look at their tab on getting involved!

Want more snapshots and FAQ updates? Check out @thebruinclub on Twitter! Have questions or comments for me? Want more details? Send an email to celina_stewart@brown.edu and I’ll get back ASAP!

Leave a Reply

